The scion 112013
4.4 / 5 Rated by 84 members
Review from Janice Nieder
Red Velvet 314 events 99 reviews

I've seen ( and enjoyed) all of Brian's shows and think this is one of his best. Unique storyline, thought provoking yet humorous.

reviewed Jan 11 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from A Genie
Red Velvet 14 events 8 reviews

New One Man Show for Brian - whom I think is GREAT at weaving his stories and acting out all of the parts in the tale. Excellent show - good story with a POINT TO MAKE ! GO !

reviewed Jan 30 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Gummiskye
14 events 5 reviews

Brian Copeland's performance was probably once of the best I've seen. He is not only very funny, but tells a compelling story.

reviewed Jan 23 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
3 events 2 reviews

Brian was really amazing. His performance was thought provoking and funny. It is nice that both can happen in the same setting. I think it takes a rare talent to pull that off and Brian has that talent.

reviewed Apr 04 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from TheaterLuvrSF
Red Velvet 260 events 179 reviews

Brian was as brilliant as ever. Excellent story-telling and very thought-provoking. Some of his voices were tough to understand.

reviewed Feb 27 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Event-Goer
Red Velvet 120 events 76 reviews

Brian Copeland is a genius.

reviewed Jan 18 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Alyonik Hrushow
Red Velvet 112 events 47 reviews

It was fabulous. Brian is so amazingly talented. I have seen all his shows. This one deals with white privilege in a very powerful and "not in your face" way that was very moving.

reviewed Jan 17 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Outandabout
Red Velvet 66 events 12 reviews

Another wonderful show from Brian Copeland. Thought provoking, intriguing, and personal.

reviewed Mar 01 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Lois Y.
145 events 47 reviews

A fascinating and intelligent show . Extremely well performed by Brian Copeland, and very relevant to a number of topical issues. I highly recommend it.

reviewed Feb 28 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Fergus
85 events 42 reviews

Energetic performance, funny, profound and necessary to be told. Well worth seeing as a commentary on the price of privilege.

reviewed Mar 22 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Francesca
117 events 33 reviews

Smart and funny!

reviewed Jan 17 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Brotherman
105 events 32 reviews

Brian is quite wonderful and the topic of race and privilege is not to be missed.

reviewed Feb 08 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from joexcohen
73 events 30 reviews

I give high marks to the theater staff, it's great location in the Mission District, and above all, the performance by Brian Copeland. He's confident, humane, and his humor is wise. He's a great story teller, understanding how to keep it...continued

reviewed Mar 27 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from sf44
40 events 29 reviews

I've seen all of Brian Copelands shows and I've always enjoyed them, this was no exception. His show is always thought provoking.

reviewed Apr 11 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Richard
51 events 23 reviews

Brian Copeland's new masterpiece and his greatest work, in previews, and then playing through March. I have seen The Jewelry Box and The Waiting Period and loved them, but this, Copeland's newest show, I predict, will become his ultimate dark...continued

reviewed Jan 16 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from cdbnonstop
40 events 23 reviews

Fantastic. I'd give this show a 4.5, if that was possible. Love how Brian delves deeply into big and important issues, while providing lots of laughs. Definitely recommend seeing this show, and Brian, in general.

reviewed Feb 06 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Lexine
72 events 23 reviews

This was a preview. The content was good, but the presentation needs work. The characters portrayed by Brian were often confusing, not that funny or profound.

reviewed Jan 16 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Mendelam
41 events 13 reviews

An insightful and moving evening. Brian Copeland is an excellent storyteller.

reviewed Mar 14 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from David Simmons
21 events 13 reviews

Brian Copeland is my favorite performance artist. What a treat to view his performances in an intimate venue like The Marsh Theatre.
Brian and the Marsh are truly two local treasures!

reviewed Jan 24 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from KP
19 events 10 reviews

Brian deftly weaves comedy with profound thoughtfulness in 75 minutes of great entertainment, giving pause to life in small towns everywhere. Wonderful show!

reviewed Mar 01 2014 report as inappropriate
previous 1 3