Abovefold 012414
4.5 / 5 Rated by 124 members
Review from G,H.
Red Velvet 851 events 427 reviews

This is one of the best plays the Pasadena Playhouse has presented in years. The audience is made to care about the characters. The story is multi layered and involving. Great acting and modern, projected scenery help to bring the story to life.

reviewed Feb 04 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from jane
Red Velvet 233 events 94 reviews

The play was very well acted and extremely relevant to the times. The seats (I mean the actual cushions and such) were horrible. A metal bar in my backside the whole time. I have to sit back and up to see over the tall people in front of me. ...continued

reviewed Feb 22 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
3 events 1 review

Disappointed with the seats from Goldstar / Red Envelope. We were stuck in the back in a barely filled theater. Considering canceling my Red Envelope membership and unsubscribing from Goldstar because of it. So disappointed.

reviewed Feb 02 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Alex Kozinski
Red Velvet 100 events 59 reviews

This play packs a lot into a fairly short time. The story tracks fairly closely the Duke Lacrosse case, with a focus on a young, ambitious reporter who gets swept up in her own initial success. It shows pretty clearly the pressures and...continued

reviewed Feb 16 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Kim HastheVictory Holifield-Harmon
Red Velvet 41 events 29 reviews

This was wonderful. Loved the story

reviewed Feb 14 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from P
Red Velvet 72 events 19 reviews

All of the actors were superb! Great story in an intimate setting. Well worth the time and money. Would definitely see it again.

reviewed Feb 14 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Ann
Red Velvet 74 events 19 reviews

We really enjoyed this thoughtful play, which raises many questions about media and "unbiased" reporting. We had great discussions afterwards. Great seats; park behind the Playhouse for easier entrance/exit.

reviewed Feb 04 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Mickey
Red Velvet 52 events 9 reviews

Play was relevant, probably happens all the time today. Taught me a lesson not to believe anything written in the newspaper - do a little research myself. . A WOW!!

reviewed Feb 23 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Sandra C.
Red Velvet 36 events 8 reviews

Above the Fold was one of the best productions that we have ever seen at the Pasadena Playhouse. The cast and production were excellent. The play itself caused one to pause and think. We were also quite pleased with our Goldstar front row seats.

reviewed Feb 06 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from laesq
Red Velvet 15 events 5 reviews

It was much better than I anticipated. It presents issues of the power of the press and and of criminal prosecutors, with racial issues "mixed in."The power of both is subject to abuse and when abused has the potential for grievously effecting the...continued

reviewed Feb 16 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Steven
Red Velvet 13 events 4 reviews

It was amazing. A must see.

reviewed Feb 21 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Nati Castillo
Red Velvet 9 events 3 reviews

Great way to spend the Valentines day evening. Good play.

reviewed Feb 14 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Georg
186 events 57 reviews

Sensational play, excellent actors and production. More expensive than plays in the tiny theatres, but it was worth it

reviewed Feb 18 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from C. Hayes
49 events 35 reviews

The experience was great. Parking was easy and close. No problem with getting ticket and seat location was good.

reviewed Feb 20 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Laurice S.
82 events 35 reviews

The subject matter of this play deserved a better script. The playwright made the mistake of thinking an argument or raising voices was conflict.
The actors were much better than the play.

Goldstar did a good job of communicating with the...continued

reviewed Feb 23 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Elaine De Jesus
69 events 32 reviews

Taraji is a great actress. Very intense and great cast.

reviewed Feb 02 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Peg B.
62 events 31 reviews

The performance started late for no apparent reason.

reviewed Feb 06 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from susan
40 events 25 reviews

Enjoyed the play. It was very thought provoking.

reviewed Feb 06 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from LDM
63 events 25 reviews

Goldstar provided EXCELLENT seats! The staging of the show was interesting. It was worth the price of admission.

reviewed Feb 09 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from J0074
31 events 24 reviews

I really enjoyed Above the Fold. I really liked the incorporation of social media.

reviewed Feb 04 2014 report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4