1396552504 once on this island 040214
4.7 / 5 Rated by 35 members
Review from Robin Toblin Blumberg

Very pleasant and enjoyable story and music. Olney Theater always does a great job and hires great performers. In particular, the actor that played one of the gods (the non-devil one) had a fantastic voice.

reviewed Apr 26 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from mimosas

Fantastic show, well staged. The voices were powerful and beautiful and the dancing was magical. Bravo!

reviewed Apr 11 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Candace Cotton

The show was well staged and the performers were phenomenal- great singing and dancing. We truly enjoyed ourselves.

reviewed Apr 25 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Lisa Kay

I really liked the show. The music is beautiful, the set, staging, and choreography was all very well done. The lead, Timoon, was fabulous! The only weakness was that maybe 2 of the singers had some pitch problems and/or too much vibrato,...continued

reviewed Apr 30 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Avrum

The cast was enthusiastic and excellent.

reviewed Apr 19 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from flowergal

This show was simply wonderful!!! DO NOT MISS IT !!!!!

reviewed Apr 24 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Eric Badiqué

A beautifully simple and cleverly done production! Loved every minute! Everyone involved should be very proud of their work.

reviewed Apr 24 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Jack ruback

Great seats!

reviewed Apr 30 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Loretta Holmberg

A splendid production!

reviewed May 01 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Ronald Lerma

Great Show!!!

reviewed Apr 16 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

I've always loved the story. The cast has beautiful voices and great energy. I didn't love the costume choices, but overall it was very enjoyable.

reviewed Apr 17 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

The performers were superb! It was a wonderful production. However, I brought my 5 and 7 yr old grandchildren and the story of the classed society of Haiti was over their heads. They enjoyed the music and dancing, but couldn't follow the story line.

reviewed Apr 23 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member

The production was wonderful and we had great seats!

reviewed Apr 23 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Herbert Weinstein

The production was very good as were the voices. However, the plot was confusing and very hard to follow. Most of the time we couldn't tell what was happening. Perhaps the "Playbill" could have done a better job of describing the action.

reviewed May 03 2014 report as inappropriate
Review from Paula Kipperman

This show was spectacular! Not one second of boredom! The music, the voices, and even the props were so creative and imaginative. The acting was so unbelievable that even trash bags and rags were transformed into beautiful gowns and ocean waves. I...continued

reviewed Apr 16 2014 report as inappropriate