1573849373 box without bottom tickets
Rated by 19 members
James
Review from James
Red Velvet 195 events 145 reviews

Very weak writing, even weaker performance.

reviewed Jan 05 2020 report as inappropriate
LIH
Review from LIH
341 events 240 reviews

I was with people who were seeing it for the second time. I was sick on their first visit; they wanted to ensure I saw David's presentation. I was engaged and moved by the story and was surprised each time he shared "magic."

reviewed Jan 04 2020 report as inappropriate
Betty Nudelman
Review from Betty Nudelman
100 events 79 reviews

Terrific performance about personal and historic Japanese issues alongside a lovely slight of hand magicianship

reviewed Jan 05 2020 report as inappropriate
SLH
Review from SLH
100 events 62 reviews

An exploration of a dark time in American civil liberties via an unexpected, magical avenue.

reviewed Nov 02 2019 report as inappropriate
Lois Y.
Review from Lois Y.
209 events 48 reviews

Very interesting show covering generally unknown history, with cool magic tricks and excellent presentation. The hour flies by. Highly recommended.

reviewed Nov 03 2019 report as inappropriate
Gary Levine
Review from Gary Levine
56 events 14 reviews

This is a finely crafted performance with excellent historical context, heartfelt personal interludes and magic that is woven into the storyline to keep the audience engaged.

reviewed Jan 05 2020 report as inappropriate
Thelma Fields
Review from Thelma Fields
17 events 8 reviews

Immersed in magic and memory. Thanks for presenting this work snd thanks for just being here in Berkeley so close to BART.

reviewed Dec 01 2019 report as inappropriate
Teresa BoggsMoura
Review from Teresa BoggsMoura
5 events 2 reviews

I wanted to learn more about the subject matter, it felt a little disjointed. Almost improvisational, I needed more of a linear structure to the story and possible more info at certain spots in the performance. It felt like it could have used more...continued

reviewed Jan 05 2020 report as inappropriate
Luke Smith
Review from Luke Smith
2 events 1 review

Part magic show, part storytelling, all delightful. Great show. David has such an engaging and warm presence. You’ll leave with a great appreciation for the art itself and for the struggle. Would highly recommend!

reviewed Nov 30 2019 report as inappropriate
Tracy Cox
Review from Tracy Cox
8 events 1 review

Really interesting story, well-told and performed!

reviewed Jan 12 2020 report as inappropriate
Kim Aikawa-Olin
Review from Kim Aikawa-Olin
3 events 1 review

This relatively short, engaging, and educational program was thoroughly enjoyed by my 91 year old mother (who was herself in internment camp during World War II) and I. This part of the story line was particularly poignant to us since my uncle...continued

reviewed Jan 25 2020 report as inappropriate
Matthew Berghs
Review from Matthew Berghs
1 event 1 review

Very entertaining and great history lesson.

reviewed Nov 30 2019 report as inappropriate