Venue Details

2754 Star Starred
Cal Performances' Zellerbach Hall
Bancroft Way and Telegraph Avenue Berkeley, CA 94720
Venue website Get directions
13 events
4 reviews
2 stars
36 events
12 reviews
1 stars
Unsure of the current parking lot situation, I parked up on Oxford St near Hearst and walked over.
star this tip starred
View all 373 tips

Reviews & Ratings

Swedish Chamber Orchestra: Beethoven, Schumann
92 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 68
  • 20
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
99 events
36 reviews
3 stars
attended Apr 06 2008

spectacular and profound performances - gifted conductor and pianist!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
73 events
2 reviews
21 stars
attended Apr 06 2008

superb concert. the orchestra had beautiful tone, the conductor was fascinating to watch, the piano soloist in the beethoven was superb. i think my favorite selection was the encore, the nimrod section of enigma variations, which was played with...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Mr. Z
498 events
68 reviews
164 stars
attended Apr 06 2008

It was a three encore performance from Sweden!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 54 Reviews
More Information


Quotes & Highlights

“(Dausgaard is) a conductor of rare conviction and insight.” -Daily Telegraph (London)


Founded in 1995, the acclaimed Swedish Chamber Orchestra presents new perspectives, not only for traditional chamber ensemble repertoire but also for music that is usually perceived as belonging to the realm of the full-size symphony orchestra. The gifted ensemble of 38 musicians is led by Music Director Thomas Dausgaard (“a conductor of rare conviction and insight,” says London’s Daily Telegraph). The Berkeley concert also features Polish-Hungarian pianist Piotr Anderszewski, who has been widely praised for the intensity and originality of his interpretations after first coming to public attention at the 1990 Leeds Piano Competition. The program will include works by Mozart, Beethoven, Schumann, and a Swedish composer to be announced.
p. Program:

Beethoven, Coriolan Overture, Op. 62

Beethoven, Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15

Schumann, Symphony No. 2 in C Major, Op. 61

Made possible, in part, by the Barbro Osher Pro Suecia Foundation

About the Ticket Supplier: Cal Performances

Cal Performances offers audiences the most comprehensive range of high quality, live performances by the world’s greatest artists, both established and emerging. Located on the UC Berkeley campus, this prestigious performing arts presenter invites audiences to enjoy the entertaining and engaging experience of the performing arts from all disciplines and cultures in a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.