Orchardsoctopi 021110
Rated by 21 members
Rebecca Alleyne-Holtzclaw
Review from Rebecca Alleyne-Holtzclaw
65 events 33 reviews

I really enjoyed this show, loved the creativity that went into this production, very informative. Thank you for great eveing out with my family.

reviewed Apr 24 2010 report as inappropriate
BRMintz
Review from BRMintz
41 events 30 reviews

To echo another respondent, this production is one of the most enjoyable I've been to in a long time! It's clever, funny, and instructive all at the same time! Don't miss it.

reviewed Apr 04 2010 report as inappropriate
bensjane
Review from bensjane
55 events 19 reviews

the play goes back and forth between a contemporary couple and Charles and Emma Darwin and their family. It was very cleverly written, well staged, and beautifully acted. It was entertaining and gave us food for thought. Highly recommend it.

reviewed Apr 22 2010 report as inappropriate
Betty Murray
Review from Betty Murray
18 events 14 reviews

Thoughtful, intelligent, funny, realistic and imaginative work - an excellent evening

reviewed Apr 24 2010 report as inappropriate
Olivia Tappan
Review from Olivia Tappan
15 events 11 reviews

We enjoyed the play and the Q&A after the show. We like the theater, although the acoustics are not ideal.

reviewed Apr 29 2010 report as inappropriate
SMF
Review from SMF
28 events 10 reviews

Production lived up to expectations. Gave life to a dry subject. Staging was innovative. Acting was good, especially the two male leads. Great value!

reviewed Apr 30 2010 report as inappropriate
Amy Jay
Review from Amy Jay
10 events 9 reviews

Great set, superb acting, overall a very enjoyable time.

reviewed Apr 11 2010 report as inappropriate
Melanie Wallace
Review from Melanie Wallace
26 events 8 reviews

This is one of the most enjoyable engaging theatrical events I have attended in a long time. I cannot recommend this highly enough. Just buy a ticket and go out for an enjoyable time.

reviewed Apr 04 2010 report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
Review from Goldstar Member
13 events 7 reviews

A well done combination of science and art.

reviewed Apr 07 2010 report as inappropriate
Janet
Review from Janet
45 events 6 reviews

Besides being a well acted drama, the play is an opportunity to think about how Darwin's findings play out in our daily lives.

reviewed Apr 21 2010 report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
Review from Goldstar Member
7 events 6 reviews

interesting integration of Darwin's work with personal evolution. loved the creative set. lead female actor a bit weak

reviewed May 02 2010 report as inappropriate
arthur Eisenberg
Review from arthur Eisenberg
9 events 4 reviews

Intelligent, creative, enjoyable performance.
Would have liked performers to speak more slowly as there is much dialogue to absorb.

reviewed Apr 30 2010 report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
Review from Goldstar Member
9 events 3 reviews

acting, set design and staging were excellent. The play had many interesting ideas and managed its double story line without confusing the viewer. A verhy worthwhile as well as entertaining evening

reviewed Apr 15 2010 report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
Review from Goldstar Member
8 events 3 reviews

After reading the glowing reviews, I was expecting something funny, stimulating and insightful. Although there were a few of those moments, I was ultimately disappointed by the acting, the production and the play itself.

reviewed Apr 25 2010 report as inappropriate
Patricia Lohmar
Review from Patricia Lohmar
25 events 2 reviews

What a delight! Melinda Lopez has written a funny, poignant, warm and thought-provoking play about evolution that is accessible to scientists and non-scientist alike. Don't let the subject matter fool you - you will enjoy this play even if you...continued

reviewed Mar 31 2010 report as inappropriate
Laura Sipser Segel
Review from Laura Sipser Segel
6 events 2 reviews

We weren't sure what to expect from a play that seemed like it might be quite cerebral but we loved it! It was funny and thought-provoking, the acting was superb, the stage set was incredibly well designed to flow and form and "evolve" with the...continued

reviewed Apr 10 2010 report as inappropriate
Josh Solomon
Review from Josh Solomon
15 events 1 review

Great play - something for everyone. Fast-moving, witty, intellectually provocative and funny at the same time. Interesting facts about science and evolution, compelling characters and family drama, and more. All in a tight 90 minutes. Go...continued

reviewed Apr 09 2010 report as inappropriate
konish495
Review from konish495
2 events 1 review

This was a great, well thought out show! The actors were talented, the story was sweet, and the set was beautiful.

reviewed Apr 16 2010 report as inappropriate
Aura Garfunkel
Review from Aura Garfunkel
4 events 1 review

The script is very funny and very smart and the characters are endearing. A very intricate story that makes you think and makes you feel. The acting was great.

reviewed Apr 25 2010 report as inappropriate