Venue Details

4 Star Starred
FanaticSalon
3815 Sawtelle Blvd Culver City, CA 90230
310-622-2046
Venue website Get directions

Member Tips

DollyThicke
Yes. Everyone in the theater was clothed. ;)
info Sep 20 2009 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Plenty of street parking. Just read the signs.
info Apr 12 2010 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Arrive 5-10 minutes early to find parking.
info Apr 12 2010 star this tip starred
Mary Fulbright
Very casual
info Apr 12 2010 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
How big was the venue?
info May 25 2010 star this tip starred
gonzalew
Casual is fine
info May 28 2010 star this tip starred
View All 19 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

66 ratings
4.7 average rating
  • 0
    5
  • 0
    4
  • 0
    3
  • 0
    2
  • 0
    1
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Sep 13 2009

Better and more poigniant than anything I've seen at the movies or in the theater in the last two years! WONDERFUL! It was insightful, educational, thought provoking and funny! Need space for another star. I'd recommend it to everyone!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
53 events
25 reviews
109 stars
attended Oct 24 2010

I've seen the show several times, mainly because it's not always the same each time I see it. He likes to change things. It really is a great piece of theater. His... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Apr 11 2010

The play was wonderful as was the acting. I can not say enough about how great an enjoyment it was for me and my friends, one of which is not a teacher, to see this performance. A job well done.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 52 Reviews
More Information

Website

http://www.misterfry.com

Quotes & Highlights

“On stage,_ Mister Fry_ makes the grade!”  —Los Angeles Times
“Jack Fry is the Patch Adams of education, the highest quality of Off Broadway theatre” —LA Examiner
Critic’s Pick for Best of the Fest —Capital Fringe
“Gritty but hopeful” —Curtain Up New York
“A must see” —socal.com
“A talented blend of comedy and emotion” —Valley Scene Magazine
“Freiberger wins over his audience…he masterfully plays two problem students.” —LA Weekly, GO!_ _
“By all means see it and leave inspired!” —Our Town New York (Theater Pick of the Week)
“This production has enough heart, audacity, and originality to stand out from the crowd mainly because of the artistry of Jack Fry.” —dctheaterscene.com
“Intense and intimate…many laughs…” —NUVO
They Call Me Mister Fry is directed by my first director Jeff Michalski, so you know it’s got to be good.” —Stephen Colbert, (The Colbert Report)
See Goldstar member reviews of They Call Me Mister Fry’_s successful New York run at Comic Strip Live. _

Description

The award-winning and critically-acclaimed They Call Me Mister Fry returns to Los Angeles.  It’s the true, funny, yet poignant story of a first year teacher teaching fifth-grade in a South Central classroom.  The story focuses on his relationship with two challenging students and his journey through the bowels of big city bureaucracy, but also his efforts to find his place in the world in this beautiful story about transformation, redemption, the fragility of life, and what we think our purpose is.