Venue Details

27241 Star Starred
Greek Theatre
2700 North Vermont Ave. Los Angeles, CA 90027
Venue website Get directions
24 events
14 reviews
4 stars
always wait until the concert is over to get the souvenir t-shirt on sale! :)
star this tip starred
7 events
1 review
0 stars
View all 1995 tips

Reviews & Ratings

George Thorogood and the Destroyers, with Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Charlie Musselwhite
45 ratings
4.6 average rating
  • 30
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
95 events
66 reviews
17 stars
attended Jul 31 2011

Three bands, all rocked. Everything worked out (after a sound-system glitch), sounded great and was everything I expected.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
85 events
42 reviews
34 stars
attended Jul 31 2011

totally awesome! IF you like great blues that rock your socks off, that is.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
47 events
31 reviews
36 stars
attended Jul 31 2011

An amazing night, every show was spectacular! Charlie Musselwhite was playing when we walked in so we might have missed a few songs, but we enjoyed everything we heard. Kenny Wayne Shepherd's guitar skills are out of the world! George Thorogood...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 35 Reviews
Member Photos
More Information


Quotes & Highlights

Check out George Thorogood and the Destroyers;Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Charlie Musselwhite at their websites.


Legendary blues-rock band, George Thorogood and the Destroyers will perform during The Greek Theatre’s 80th Anniversary season with special guests Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Charlie Musselwhite.

George Thorogood and the Destroyers released their self-titled debut album in 1977 and quickly established themselves as radio favorites and as a touring machine.  Described as “the world’s greatest bar band,” the group has sold more than 15 million albums worldwide and has had tremendous success with Thorogood’s original compositions like “You Talk Too Much,” “I Drink Alone” and of course “Bad To The Bone;” he’s also had hits with covers of iconic blues-rock songs like “Who Do You Love” (Bo Diddley), “Move It On Over” (Hank Williams) and “One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer” (John Lee Hooker).  Thorogood’s Gold-certified Greatest Hits: 30 Years Of Rock was Billboard’s #1 Blues Album for 2004 and 2005, and the band’s 2006 album, The Hard Stuff, reached #2.  2009’s The Dirty Dozen debuted at #1 on the Blues chart, fueled by the album’s #1 single, “Tail Dragger.”

On their 17th studio album, 2120 South Michigan Avenue, to be released July 12 by Capitol/EMI, Thorogood and the Destroyers pay tribute to their Chess Records heroes, including many of Thorogood’s legendary mentors who helped to launch his career in rock & roll.  Named for the address of Chess Records’ Chicago headquarters, _2120 _features Thorogood’s raw, rocking turn on classics by a who’s-who of the blues, including Willie Dixon, Muddy Waters, Bo Diddley, Chuck Berry, Howlin’ Wolf, Buddy Guy, and other Chess greats, plus new original songs written by Thorogood, the album’s producer Tom Hambridge, and Richard Fleming.  The album’s guests include 2010 GRAMMY Award winners Buddy Guy and Charlie Musselwhite.