Venue Details

96 Star Starred
Luckman Fine Arts Complex
at Cal State L.A. 5151 State University Drive Los Angeles, CA 90032
Venue website Get directions
11 events
6 reviews
2 stars
Casual dress. Nicely kept, organized, attractive, intimate theatre
star this tip starred
8 events
5 reviews
13 stars
9 of us drove to eat at Korean BBQ, in Korea town, that took us about 10 min or so to arrive to. If your in such a large group I suggest breaking it up in two to be seated much faster, also read rules as restuarant we sat at charged for meat left over by the pound? We also ended choosing the 9.99 menue each and somehow ended up paying a $20 gratuity fee, that unless it was written in Korean we did not know about prior, nor told about. This turned out to be less than what we normally would have tipped., hidden fees are just not fun.
star this tip starred
View all 185 tips
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

“Both bracingly contemporary and superbly aware of how much ballet can express without descending to desperate crossover strategies or hard-sell hyper-athleticism.” —L.A. Times
“Los Angeles-based choreographer Raiford Rogers has discarded the pointe shoe and invented a distinctly original style of modern ballet.” —BackStage NY


As the final presentation of its 2004-05 performance season, the Luckman Fine Arts Complex at Cal State L.A. will offer premieres of two original works by Raiford Rogers Modern Ballet: Concertante, set to Frank Martin’s 1944 “Petite Symphonie Concertante”; and Prelude, set to the Prelude from Corelli’s “Sonata for Violin and Cello, Op.5 No.9” on Saturday, June 4 at 8:00 p.m.

The program by Raiford Rogers Modern Ballet (formerly LA Chamber Ballet) will also feature a reprise of Wishes and Turns, set to Martinu’s “Piano Quartet No. 1,” the seminal 1942 chamber piece popularized by Jim Svejda as the opening music for his nightly radio show on classical station KUSC FM 91.5.

The Raiford Rogers Modern Ballet’s engagement at the Sadler’s Wells Peacock Theatre in London garnered the company rave reviews as a “vital and major new dance voice from Los Angeles.”

This success prompted an invitation to the new DTW Schonberg Theatre in New York as the first L.A.-based troupe to appear at the theatre. Now, Raiford Rogers returns to the Luckman with the premiere of Concertante, set to Frank Martin’s Petite Symphonie Concertante for harpsichord, harp, piano, and two string orchestras.

Rogers’ award-winning Wishes and Turns, described in its 1985 incarnation as “a dance of refreshing verve and provocative intent” (Dance Magazine) and completely revised to great accolades for its 2004 revival, will also be presented.