Venue Details

96 Star Starred
Luckman Fine Arts Complex
at Cal State L.A. 5151 State University Drive Los Angeles, CA 90032
Venue website Get directions
11 events
6 reviews
2 stars
Casual dress. Nicely kept, organized, attractive, intimate theatre
star this tip starred
8 events
5 reviews
13 stars
9 of us drove to eat at Korean BBQ, in Korea town, that took us about 10 min or so to arrive to. If your in such a large group I suggest breaking it up in two to be seated much faster, also read rules as restuarant we sat at charged for meat left over by the pound? We also ended choosing the 9.99 menue each and somehow ended up paying a $20 gratuity fee, that unless it was written in Korean we did not know about prior, nor told about. This turned out to be less than what we normally would have tipped., hidden fees are just not fun.
star this tip starred
View all 185 tips

Reviews & Ratings

Raiford Rogers Modern Ballet Dances to Beethoven, Bach and More
4 ratings
3.0 average rating
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
38 events
15 reviews
10 stars
attended Jun 19 2010

the event was excellent.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jun 19 2010

I have never seen this company's performance before so I was looking forward to see very much but I was very disappointed when the show started. The music were all pretty but dance ( choreography) were plane or I did not see any " originality" to...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
More Information


A world premiere of Hammerklavier, a multi-media ballet set to Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No. 29 in B flat major, Op. 106, widely considered to be one of the most important works of the composer’s third period. The sonata, written in 1817-18, represents the spectacular emergence of many of the themes that were to recur in Beethoven’s late period: the reinvention of traditional forms, and a return to pre-classical compositional traditions.  

Completing the program: Rogers’ acclaimed Transcription, set to Busoni’s piano transcription of Bach’s Chaconne in D minor; Ostinato In C set to Sergey Taneyev’s Piano Quintet, and Dankgesang set to Beethoven’s third movement from Quartet in A minor.