Venue Details

The New York Society for Ethical Culture
64th Street at Central Park West 2 West 64th Street New York City, NY 10023
Website Get directions
5.0 / 5 Rated by 3 members
Review from Eric Svenson
33 events 24 reviews

Our first time to hear the Chamber Music Society,
The seats were exceelent!

The slections were very modern, but very unique and enjoyable!

reviewed Feb 10 2008 report as inappropriate
Review from Robert Rothleder
24 events 8 reviews

par excellance
more of this type of classical entertainment

reviewed Feb 22 2008 report as inappropriate
More Information


*Event Schedule


*February 8 @ 7:30pm: American Voices I



Benjamin Franklin – Quartet No. 2 in F major for Three Violins and Cello

Henry Cowell – The Aeolian Harp for Piano Strings

Henry Cowell – The Banshee for Piano Strings

Henry Cowell – Quartet Euphometric for Strings

Louis Gruenberg – Four Diversions for String Quartet, Op. 32

George Antheil – Sonata No. 2 for Violin, Piano, and Drums

Amy Cheney Beach – Piano Quintet in F-sharp minor, Op. 67

Performed by the Escher String Quartet: Gilbert Kalish, Anne-Marie McDermott, piano; Daniel Phillips, violin and viola

Formed in 2005, the Escher String Quartet has attracted the attention of numerous artists who immediately admired the young ensemble for their individual sound, inspired artistic decisions, and unique cohesiveness. Within months of its inception, the Escher was invited by both Pinchas Zukerman and Itzhak Perlman to be the quartet-in-residence at each artist’s summer festival: The National Arts Centre in Canada and The Perlman Chamber Music Program on Shelter Island, NY. The following winter, the Escher Quartet made its Kennedy Center debut, representing the Manhattan School of Music for the Conservatory Project.

February 10 @ 5:00pm: American Voices II


Edward MacDowell – Piano Etudes

Aaron Copland – Lento Molto from Two Pieces for String Quartet

John Cage – Amores for Prepared Piano and Three Percussion Players

Mario Davidovsky – Piano Septet (CMS co-commission, World Premiere)

Charles Tomlinson Griffes – Three Tone Pictures for Piano, Op. 5

Lukas Foss – Time Cycle for Soprano and Ensemble

Performed by Alan Feinberg, piano/celeste; Escher String Quartet, ensemble; Barbara Hannigan, soprano; Tara Helen O’Connor, flute; David Shifrin, clarinet; Ida Kavafian, violin; David Kim, viola; Fred Sherry, cello; DaXun Zhang, double bass; Gilbert Kalish, piano; John Ferrari, Ayano Kataoka, Tom Kolor, percussion

There will be a pre-concert composer chat with Mario Davidovsky and Bruce Adolphe at 4:15pm.

Pianist Alan Feinberg was featured on opening night of the San Francisco Symphony’s Maverick Festival, at the New Horizons Festival of the New York Philharmonic, the 10th anniversary concert of the American Composers Orchestra, the 92nd Street Y’s Berio Sequenza Marathon, the first performance of Act I of John Adams’ Nixon in China for the Guggenheim’s Works in Progress Series, and the Carnegie Hall birthday celebration of George Gershwin with Dick Hyman. He has performed as soloist with the Chicago Symphony, the New York Philharmonic, the London Philharmonic, the Montreal Symphony, the Los Angeles Philharmonic, the BBC Scottish, the American Symphony, the St. Louis Symphony, the Baltimore Symphony, the New World Symphony, and many others.

Soprano Barbara Hannigan created the role of Saskia de Vries in Writing to Vermeer, by Louis Andriessen and British filmmaker Peter Greenaway at the Netherlands Opera in December 1999 with further performances in Australia and New York’s Lincoln Center Festival and at the Netherlands Opera’s 2004 remount of the original production. Other operatic roles include Lucia in Britten’s The Rape of Lucretia, Despina in Mozart’s Cosi fan tutte, Anne Truelove in Stravinsky’s The Rake’s Progress, the title role in Janacek’s The Cunning Little Vixen, Armida in Handel’s Rinaldo, and Dalinda in Handel’s _Ariodante.

_*February 12 @ 7:30pm: American Voices III*


John Antes – Trio in D minor for Two Violins and Cello, Op. 3, No. 2

George Gershwin – Lullaby for String Quartet

Samuel Barber – String Quartet, Op.11

Ruth Crawford – Seeger String Quartet

Leonard Bernstein – Clarinet Sonata

Joan Tower – A Gift for Piano, Flute, Clarinet, Bassoon, and Horn (World Premiere)

Performed by the Jupiter String Quartet; Tara Helen O’Connor, flute; David Shifrin, clarinet; Milan Turkovic, bassoon; William Purvis, horn; Anne-Marie McDermott, piano

There will be a pre-concert composer chat with Joan Tower and Bruce Adolphe at 6:45pm.

The Jupiter String Quartet has just been awarded the Cleveland Quartet Award by Chamber Music America, a prize which “honors and promotes a rising young string quartet whose artistry demonstrates that it is in the process of establishing a major career.” It has also been selected to join The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center’s Chamber Music Society Two for a three-year residency beginning in 2007, and have been awarded the Netherland America Prize, which will sponsor a tour of the Netherlands in the Spring of 2008. In 2004 the quartet captured the Grand Prize in the Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition and First Prize in the 8th Banff International String Quartet Competition, where it was also awarded the Szekely Prize for the best performance of a Beethoven quartet. The Quartet has performed at Lincoln Center, Boston’s Jordan Hall, and London’s Wigmore Hall, and at major music festivals.

February 22 @ 7:30pm & *February 24 @ 5:00pm**: American Voices IV



Anthony Philip Heinrich – _Sylvan Scene in Kentucky, or the __Barbecue Divertimento_ for Piano

Louis Moreau Gottschalk – Union for Piano, Op. 48

Charles Ives – Piano Trio

Alan Louis Smith Vignettes – Covered Wagon Woman (from the Daily Journal of Margaret Ann Alsip Frink, 1850) for Mezzo-Soprano, Piano, Violin, and Cello

Performed by Alan Feinberg, piano/celeste; Stephanie Blythe, mezzo-soprano; Ani Kavafian, violin; Priscilla Lee, Fred Sherry, cello; Warren Jones, piano

Mezzo-soprano Stephanie Blythe, the winner of the 1999 Richard Tucker Award, has rapidly become one of the most highly respected artists of her generation. She has appeared in the great opera houses of the world including the Metropolitan Opera, Seattle Opera, Opera Company of Philadelphia, Royal Opera House Covent Garden, and the Opera National de Paris. Her many roles include the title roles in _Carmen, La Grande Duchesse, Tancredi, Mignon, _and Guilio Cesare; Fricka in both Das Rheingold and Die Walkure; Azucena in Il Trovatore; and Ulrica in Un Ballo in Maschera. This season, she returns to the Metropolitan Opera as Ulrica and Fricka and to the Arizona Opera as Orlofsky in Die Fledermaus, and makes her debut at the Pittsburgh Opera as Amneris in Aida. Blythe has also appeared with many of the world’s finest orchestras.

More to Explore

Maxwell: <em>Summers' Tour '17</em> <em>Cyrano de Bergerac</em> Stamp & Scrapbook Expo Taylor & The Apes Barbra Streisand Brahms' <em>A German Requiem</em>