Jamaicafarewell 020513

Jamaica, Farewell Reviews

Soho Playhouse (New York City, NY)

Reviews & Ratings

"Jamaica, Farewell"
164 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 143
    5
  • 18
    4
  • 2
    3
  • 1
    2
  • 0
    1
Fritz McDuff
66 events
37 reviews
179 stars
attended Dec 08 2009

An incredible peace of theater. Ms. Ehrhardt charms the audience with a story that is funny, moving, suspenseful and thrilling. It should be a movie! Go see it as soon as you can.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
252 events
176 reviews
25 stars
attended Apr 27 2014

I enjoyed the performance. Some parts were a bit slow but overall definitely worthwhile.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
93 events
64 reviews
10 stars
attended Mar 31 2013

Biggest little play since the Fantastics. A classic.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Alec Bigelson Red Velvet
163 events
58 reviews
12 stars
attended Mar 16 2013

Debra Ehrhardt is brilliant. From the moment she first emerges from the darkness she draws you into her journey and doesn't let go, even after the curtain comes down after the show. It's no wonder that all of her shows are SOLD OUT.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Milo Blair Red Velvet
69 events
38 reviews
15 stars
attended May 04 2014

The play was excellent. The venue was condusive to the one woman structure of the play. The story line displayed all the human elements of a person struggling to make it and the addition of humor certainly did not hurt.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
23 reviews
5 stars
attended Mar 30 2013

Compelling one-woman show -good description on the site. Very funny but also thought provoking. Extremely talented performer. Our group of 3 from NYC, DC and northern NJ all rate it highly. Great value at the low price we paid.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
73 events
15 reviews
5 stars
attended Mar 31 2013

Ms. Ehrhardt was thoroughly entertaining. This was my second time seeing this play. I enjoyed it as much this time, as I did my first time. I'd even see it again. I strongly recommend this play for an enjoyable time.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
75 events
13 reviews
31 stars
attended Mar 30 2013

Unbelievably talented actress recounts her journey from Jamaica to the USA in the turbulent 70s. Heartwarming, funny, compassionate; I
Would see this again and I never do that.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
28 events
12 reviews
2 stars
attended Dec 18 2011

I LOVE one-person shows - and this is one of the best I have ever seen. Debra E. is an expressive, captivating performer and brilliant writer. As we were walking out I overheard the woman behind us say "I've seen the show 4 times and each time...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Patricia Sumner Red Velvet
18 events
8 reviews
37 stars
attended May 18 2014

This was truly a wonderful performance. My friends and I were very pleasantly surprised. We wanted to see it again and I understand it will be returning next month. I am on the mailing list and will be telling all of my friends. Fabulous!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
33 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended May 11 2014

Amazing one-woman show! Mesmerizing! This young woman is SO talented! I will definitely recommend the show to all my friends! Great experience and insight into Jamaican history! really appreciate it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
9 events
1 review
17 stars
attended Jun 15 2014

I can't remember the last time I laughed so much. Great job! Even my 19 year old and 11 year old daughters enjoyed the show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
3 stars
130 events
75 reviews
3 stars
attended Dec 17 2011

THIS WAS A FANTASTIC SHOW. I ENJOYED MYSELF SO MUCH. I WENT ALONE AND HAD A GREAT TIME. I WISH THAT MY FRIENDS COULD HAVE ATTENDED. I TOLD ANYONE WHO WOULD LISTENS HOW GOOD IT WAS. THE ARTIST IS SO ANIMATED, CHARISMATIC AND TOTALLY INTO THE PARTS...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
26 events
21 reviews
1 stars
attended Mar 15 2008

Deborah's show is funny and entertaining to say the least! She is very talented and I admire her courage. I look forward to seeing her name in other shows in the future.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
38 events
20 reviews
8 stars
attended Apr 19 2008

OH MY GOD! FANTASTIC! A MUST SEE! SO HILARIOUS! SUCH TALENT!
THE ABILITY TO PULL US INTO THE STORY "VISUALLY" WAS AMAZING!
I WAS ACTUALLY IN "PIGEONTOWN"..AND I'VE NEVER BEEN THERE BEFORE!
A+ PERFORMANCE!
LUCIEB AND DION

star this review starred report as inappropriate
22 events
17 reviews
51 stars
attended Jun 23 2013

This play was superb. The actress was phenomenal, and so was the storyline. You will not be disappointed.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
262 events
14 reviews
29 stars
67 events
13 reviews
13 stars
61 events
13 reviews
128 stars
attended May 04 2014

Outstanding performance!!!! Have recommended this production to several people.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4 5 6 7