Venue Details

354 Star Starred
Clipper City Tall Ship
at Clipper City Service Desk on South State St. Battery Park and State Street New York City, NY 10004
Get directions

Member Tips

dress

Casual
3 said this

dining

No food allowed
2 said this
Dine before you go
1 said this
Goldstar Member
Wear a hat for sun protection, and sunglasses.
info May 25 2009 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Bring water, but they have a bar on board also.
info May 25 2009 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Take mass transit if possible, parking near the seaport is around $25
info May 25 2009 star this tip starred
Debbie Anderson
Bring a light jacket if you take the 3pm tour. It gets a little windy.
info May 26 2009 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Bring a fleece or jacket regardless of what time you go.
info May 26 2009 star this tip starred
Goldstar Member
Be prepared for sun and wind.
info Feb 23 2013 star this tip starred
View All 159 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

668 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 379
    5
  • 214
    4
  • 52
    3
  • 12
    2
  • 11
    1
22 events
11 reviews
37 stars
attended May 31 2009

Hey guys
So I took the 12:30 cruise.It was a picture perfect day. I would advise to bring a sweater as it does get windy. Full bar aboard as well.Bud Lights run about... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Aug 13 2009

We took the 7 pm cruise in mid August. As we sailed, the sun set behind the Statue of Liberty and the harbor seas were calm with a gentle roll to them. The ship was much... continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended May 23 2009

Beautiful day. Maiden sail. Great crew. Wonderful experience. Do it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 517 Reviews
Member Photos
Memorial_day_2009_021 Theship P1000818 P1000826 P1000835 Piratepete133_100 Sunset_sail_may_16 Mslibertysails_rot_90 Nyny Ladyliberty Clipper Profile4 Profile3 2kenya_face_shot 3lady_liberty_closer 2view_from_boat_2 2erickenya_on_boat 2view_from_boat_1 1clipper_city_stern_2 City_at_twilight P7070926 _mg_0763 Img_0125 Img_0175 Img_0135_rot_90 Img_0149 Nyc_sept_2010_036 Nyc_sept_2010_069 Nyc_sept_2010_076 Dsc00745 38261201732680762042275216104971800515280838018653141038250141290229442214664_dsc00746 Dsc00749 Photo 89590105680649497645597701237592182762283715672458719074297596138669417190655_p1010694 38430201686723054894913534542531323585771775924711471728630470750753349805428_p1010709 Img_6354 Img_6465 Img_6498 114 P1010289 Dsc03193 058 096 Cimg4018 Img_8808 271 278 Img_1221 2e9615eef21611e1bfbf22000a1c91a7_5 7eb6a89cf19c11e19c1122000a1e8a73_5 0033fb7af1a911e1b03f123138104623_5 0537d166f1a711e1b479123138072941_5 F4f86856f19c11e1a63622000a1d0283_5 E5fbdfdcf1a511e1bd9022000a1e953c_5 Dd252f56f21511e18df322000a1e9df2_5 73ed1846f21511e1958512313d149824_5 A86ca3daf1a611e1a78c12313804ce91_5 Image 330254507626121492106968370263099619006_image Image Statue_of_liberty 033 Img_0469 Img_0423 Img_0428
More Information

Website

http://www.manhattanbysail.com

Description

Nothing will prepare you for the amazing sensation of being NYC’s largest sailing boat in commercial operation today … 158 feet long, with masts rising 120’ off the deck. Flying over 8,000 square feet of sail and weighing in at over 200 tons, the Clipper City is both the iconic newest addition to the NYC skyline and a stunning reminder of New York’s role in America’s 19th-century rise to prominence in global commerce.

Drinks available for purchase on board.

*Daytime Sail *(90 minutes)

Take a step back in time on New York’s only tall ship. From her spacious main deck or raised quarter deck, you’ll enjoy the sailing experience of a lifetime aboard this majestic topsail schooner as we unfurl her canvas and set sail through the harbor.

*Twilight Sail *(2 hours)

Watch night fall on the city as the sun sets behind the Statue of Liberty from the unbeatable vantage point of the harbor. Order a drink from our full bar as we drop canvas and leave Manhattan behind.

About the Ticket Supplier: Manhattan By Sail

We've been taking people sailing in New York Harbor for more than 30 years. We started small and humbly, with one boat and a crew made up largely of sail-loving volunteers.
Today we have a diverse little fleet of ships and a myriad of options for any and all who want to experience the thrill of sailing in the world's greatest harbor. From basic public sails to specialty tours, music events, cocktail parties, family programming, custom weddings and private charters, Manhattan By Sail is dedicated to bringing you an unforgettable sailing experience and remains committed to the original mission, which has always been about making our passengers feel like a part of our ever-growing sailing family.