Venue Details

12443 Star Starred
New York City Center
131 West 55th Street New York City, NY 10019
212-581-1212
Venue website Get directions
4.8 / 5 Rated by 31 members
Review from Goldstar Member
30 events 19 reviews

First-rate, energetic, jolly dancing........

reviewed Feb 27 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from remiharvey
40 events 16 reviews

I usually love Paul Taylor, this particular program was not as exciting as most I have seen...none the less superior dancing

reviewed Mar 12 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Goldstar Member
16 events 12 reviews

Amazing !!!!! The seats were great and the performance was incredible!

reviewed Mar 04 2010 report as inappropriate
View All 18 Reviews
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

“One of the world’s supreme dance makers… some of the grandest works produced in this country or anywhere else for that matter.  Such masterpieces as Mr. Taylor’s Esplanade [and] _Sunset are among the dance world’s most important treasures, and the chance to see works of this caliber from a living artist is too precious to miss.” —_Washington Times
“Ravishing” —_New York Observer _
“Luminous” —_The Village Voice _
“Spellbinding” —_The New York Times _
“Euphoria in motion” —Cleveland Plain Dealer

Description

Paul Taylor is one of history’s most prolific choreographers – but what’s truly impressive is that his most recent work has been hailed by audiences and critics as among his best ever.  These include a dance he created for the 2009 season – Beloved Renegade – that will be part of the 2010 repertoire, along with two new dances: Also Playing and Brief Encounters

The Schedule:

Wednesday, February 24, 7pm: _Syzygy, Beloved Renegade, Brief Encounters* _

       (the above performance benefits dancers responding to AIDS)

Friday, February 26, 8pm: Changes, Scudorama, Esplanade

Saturday, February 27, 8pm: A Field of Grass, Beloved Renegade, Brandenburgs

Sunday, February 28, 3pm: Sunset, Public Domain, Cascade

Tuesday, March 2, 7pm: Birthday Gala: _Brandenburgs, Brief Encounters*, Also Playing* _

Wednesday, March 3, 7pm: Airs, Public Domain, Spindrift

Thursday, March 4, 7pm: Dream Girls, Sunset, Cascade

Friday, March 5, 8pm: Brandenburgs, Also Playing*, Piazzolla Caldera

Saturday, March 6, 8pm: Airs, Public Domain, Brief Encounters*

Sunday, March 7, 3pm: Dream Girls, Beloved Renegade, Also Playing*

Tuesday, March 9, 7pm: A Field of Grass, Airs, Syzygy

Wednesday, March 10, 7pm: Dandelion Wine, Runes, Also Playing*

Thursday, March 11, 7pm: Changes, Sunset, Esplanade

Friday, March 12, 8pm: _Spindrift, Brief Encounters*, Syzygy _

Saturday, March 13, 3pm: A Field of Grass, Scudorama, Piazzolla Caldera

Saturday, March 13, 8pm: Cascade, Beloved Renegade, Also Playing*

Sunday, March 14, 3pm: Changes, Brief Encounters*, Piazzolla Caldera

Programs subject to change.

St. Patrick's Day Cruise <em>Artexpo New York</em> Prohibition Pub Crawl GROW Together Launch Party Music at City Winery New York <em>Casino Evil</em>