Venue Details

39 Star Starred
The New York Society for Ethical Culture
64th Street at Central Park West 2 West 64th Street New York City, NY 10023
Venue website Get directions
11 events
5 reviews
7 stars
Only small popcorn & water is offered.
star this tip starred
11 events
5 reviews
7 stars
View All 21 Tips

Reviews & Ratings

Prazak Quartet
2 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
More Information



Franz Joseph Haydn: String Quartet in A major, Op. 50, No. 6, “The Frog”

Leos Janacek: String Quartet No. 1, “The Kreutzer Sonata”

Bedrich Smetana: String Quartet No. 1 in E minor, “From My Life”

More than a century ago Prague began boasting world-class string quartets that combined precision with expression, intellect with heart. Formed at the Prague Conservatory in 1972, the Prazak Quartet has now been carrying on the Czech tradition for more than 35 years. In this concert it plays two entries in the slender catalogue of “program chamber music,” in both cases by leading Czech masters: Janacek’s “Kreutzer Sonata” quartet, inspired by Tolstoy’s tale of adultery and murder; and Smetana’s “From My Life,” a work of musical autobiography so detailed that it even includes the sound of the tinnitus that foreshadowed the composer’s deafness. Haydn’s “Frog” quartet is another offering on this program.

About the Ticket Supplier: The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS) is one of twelve constituents of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, the largest performing arts complex in the world. Along with other constituents such as the New York Philharmonic, New York City Ballet, Lincoln Center Theater, and The Metropolitan Opera, the Chamber Music Society has its home at Lincoln Center, in Alice Tully Hall. Through its performance, education, and recording/broadcast activities, it draws more people to chamber music than any other organization of its kind.

CMS presents annual series of concerts and educational events for listeners ranging from connoisseurs to chamber music newcomers of all ages. Performing repertoire from over three centuries, and numerous premieres by living composers, CMS offers programs curated to provide listeners a comprehensive perspective on the art of chamber music. The performing artists of CMS, a multi-generational selection of expert chamber musicians, constitute an evolving repertory company capable of presenting chamber music of every instrumentation, style, and historical period (see Artists of the Society and Guests). Its annual activities include a full season of concerts and activities, national and international tours, nationally televised broadcasts on Live From Lincoln Center, a radio show broadcast nationwide, and regular appearances on National Public Radio's Performance Today.