Venue Details

Howard Gilman Performance Space at Baryshnikov Arts Center
between 9th & 10th Avenues, on West 37th Street 450 West 37th Street, 4th Floor New York, NY 10018
Website Get directions
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

March 29 will be the Opening Night Gala Performance with a pre-performance reception starting at 7:00pm. Artwork from the “Dance on Canvas” Partnership will be on display and available for bidding on in a silent auction.


SYREN Modern Dance presents the New York premieres of “Dolce” and “Toward Home,”as well as the return of “the last of the leaves” in six evenings accompanied by live music in the company’s Eighth New York Season March 29-April 3 at Howard Gilman Performance Space at Baryshnikov Arts Center.

On March 29-31, SYREN will present “Dolce” and “the last of the leaves”. “Dolce” is a rich and joyful exploration of the different relationships women share. Set to the playful and passionate score by Edvard Grieg, the music of “Holberg Suite” leads the way as the six ladies of SYREN lusciously move through space in groups, duets, and trios. The movement vocabulary is filled with jumps, turns and intricate partnering and is tightly connected to Grieg’s versatile score.

Highly physical, “the last of the leaves” uses the driving and churning idiosyncrasies of John Adams’ “Shaker Loops” to explore the mysteries surrounding the cycles of human life. Birth, illness, death, and the different energies needed to experience them, are points of departure for this piece as eight dancers journey through qualities both distant and tender.

On April 1-3, SYREN will present “Toward Home”, an exploration of home through music and dance. The cast of eight dancers and six instrumentalists move through a vivid landscape of departure, love, loss, adventure, and reinvention. Lush movement and nuanced physical details are intertwined with charged and colorful music that ranges from the lyrical and melodic to the wild and electric. These journeys converge as the path toward home is found, abandoned, and re-created.

March 29-31, 2011 at 7:30pm:

“Dolce,” Edvard Grieg’s “Holberg Suite”

“the least of the leaves,” John Adams’ “Shaker Loops”

Featuring Artemis Chamber Ensemble

Conducted by Matthew Oberstein

April 1-2, 2011 at 7:30pm, April 3, 3:00pm:

“Toward Home,” Composed by Damon Ferrante

Featuring The Paumanok Trio, Simon Boyar, Oren Fader, Mat Fieldes

Artistic Directors: Kate St. Amand & Lynn Peterson

Choreographer: Kate St. Amand

Dancers: Sonja Dale, Bryant Henderson, Chanelle Lagacé, Xuexin (Nico) Li, Brigitte Mitchell, Jeremy Neal, Lynn Peterson, Kyleigh Sackandy, Chihiro Shimizu

More to Explore

<em>Cyrano de Bergerac</em> Stamp & Scrapbook Expo Taylor & The Apes Barbra Streisand Brahms' <em>A German Requiem</em> International Sightseeing Cruise