39steps 062112

The 39 Steps Reviews

Drury Lane Theatre (Oakbrook Terrace, IL)

Reviews & Ratings

"The 39 Steps"
160 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 84
    5
  • 50
    4
  • 17
    3
  • 6
    2
  • 2
    1
148 events
44 reviews
33 stars
attended Jul 08 2012

The show is fun and full of little surprises.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 07 2012

Thought the staging was good, but too much slapstick for our tastes. The AC was so cold that we had to leave at intermission. Other patrons did the same.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
2 reviews
3 stars
33 events
16 reviews
21 stars
attended Jul 08 2012

the actores were great but -- the story line was very confusing so ther for very boring!!! I ask the elderly women next to me How do you like the play? she said I dont understand a dam thing.. me to!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
15 events
12 reviews
13 stars
attended Jul 08 2012

Actors did a fine job.....4playing multiple rolls!

First act seemed to move faster than the second which dragged a bit. Stage sets, costumes were done well. Lots of energy. Music was generated electronically and set the mood without live...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
11 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 12 2012

A wonderful, fun afternoon at Drury Lane watching very professional acting in a delightful play!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
10 reviews
9 stars
attended Jul 19 2012

I found this performance brilliantly creative and as funny a show as I've seen in years. I have already sent others to see it!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
FME
29 events
8 reviews
16 stars
attended Jul 08 2012

I did not enjoy this particular play, although the actors did a great job and put all their effort into the production. I just thought it was a bit too slap stick and trite. This was just not for me, so I left at intermission.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
4 reviews
13 stars
attended Jul 14 2012

The play was well-performed, but just not very funny. Maybe I'm just too jaded for this type of slapstick humor. But I've seen all these jokes before, and they just went on and on. I took a chance on this show, having never seen either the play or...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
3 reviews
0 stars
attended Jul 19 2012

The staging for this play is amazing. Through clever costuming, four actors become a hundred different characters and the stage becomes a train, a windy moor, and much more. A great, fun production!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Jul 22 2012

The performers were brilliant. Although the play was not at all what we expected, we enjoyed it thoroughly. I'm recommending it to anyone who will listen!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Jul 05 2012

Witty storyline, well executed, great comedic twist on a Hitchcock story. The acting is so good that you forget there are only four actors playing multiple rolls. Very entertaining!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
101 events
50 reviews
27 stars
attended Jul 21 2012

One of the most unique and well done plays I've ever seen. Have already recommended it to my friends. Don't think there was 5 minutes that went by that we weren't laughing. 4 actors playing 140 different parts.....they did this flawlessly....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
65 events
27 reviews
6 stars
attended Jul 29 2012

This is a funny show. A lot of physical humor and the cast's timing is just great. I was impressed w/ the staging. I would recommend it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
51 events
22 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 12 2012

Hilarious slapstick elements and dialogue. Not at all like Hitchcock's movie.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
23 events
14 reviews
8 stars
attended Aug 16 2012

I took my 80 year old mother and 12 year old daughter to see this play. We all loved it! The actors were very talented, and we laughed out loud throughout the performance. I would highly recommend this for everyone.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
37 events
4 reviews
5 stars
attended Jul 29 2012

Very funny, tongue in cheek.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
3 events
2 reviews
2 stars
attended Aug 26 2012

The actors were incredible. The pace they maintained and the timing of their "schtics" was fantastic.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
29 events
2 reviews
10 stars
attended Jul 21 2012

this is one of the best shows we have seen at Drury Lane. so much fun.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
48 events
45 reviews
7 stars
attended Aug 01 2012

A fun show! Very creative. Many laughs. You may want to read up on it before seeing it. Some people were confused about the plot and had a hard time following it, but enjoyed it nonetheless. I highly recommend this show.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4 5 6 7