Venue Details

221 Star Starred
Paramount Theatre
2025 Broadway Oakland, CA 94612
Venue website Get directions
More Information



Bernard Herrmann** Suite from Vertigo (1958)

John Kendall Bailey, conductor

Scott Amendola __Fade To Orange __(World Premiere) New Visions/New Vistas Commissioning Project supported by

a grant from The James Irvine Foundation). Additional support from

East Bay Fund for Artists at the East Bay Community Foundation.

Scott Amendola, drums, percussion and electronics

Nels Cline, guitar (lead guitarist from Wilco)

Trevor Dunn, electric bass

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4 (1878)

The essence of Romanticism abounds in two vastly different works from two eras and regions: Tchaikovsky’s turbulent Symphony No. 4 and the Suite from Vertigo by famous film composer Bernard Herrmann, who scored some of Alfred Hitchcock’s most famous films. 2011 is the centennial of Herrmann’s birth, and Oakland East Bay Symphony will observe this occasion by performing his Suite from Vertigo, whose dramatic melodies convey the main character’s obsessive love.

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony, written during a time of great personal turmoil for the composer, is closely associated with two women – one whom he married the year he wrote it, and the other a loyal supporter to whom he dedicated the work. This is music of great emotional contrasts, full of passion and longing.

OEBS will also present the fourth and final New Visions/New Vistas premiere by bandleader, composer and drummer Scott Amendola, who was named “MVP” of the 2009 Bay Area jazz scene by the__ San Francisco Chronicle__. Amendola will play drums, percussion and electronics on his piece and will also be joined by Nels Cline, lead guitarist of the alternative rock band Wilco, and bass player Trevor Dunn.

<em>Eclipsed</em> <em>Hershey Felder as Irving Berlin</em> Yoshi's Oakland Balé Folclórico da Bahia <em>Betroffenheit</em> <em>Cirque du Soleil: LUZIA</em>