Venue Details

208 Star Starred
Paramount Theatre
2025 Broadway Oakland, CA 94612
Venue website Get directions
27 events
15 reviews
216 stars
Oakland, CA Paramount Theater conveniently located across the street from 19th Street Public Transportation - SFbart Train. Parking lot is small. If you drive allow extra time to locate secure a parking space.
star this tip starred
27 events
13 reviews
2 stars
Found parking on the side street, 22nd, at 6:35 PM.
star this tip starred
View all 149 tips

Reviews & Ratings

Opening Night: "New World A-Comin'"
3 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
11 events
4 reviews
5 stars
attended Nov 04 2011

A wonderful program, beautifully conducted, and an outstanding performance by Ms. Buechner. And of course you can't beat the venue. Thanks for a wonderful evening, Goldstar!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

“[Sara Buechner] played with fire and sparkle, her tone crisp and forceful. The big crowd gave her a long, heartfelt standing ovation.” —Buffalo News


Join Oakland East Bay Symphony for opening night as they celebrate the rich, vibrant tradition of American music. They’ll start with the captivating swing of Duke Ellington’s hopeful, forward-looking New World A-Comin’, with its vision of a post-World War II country in which oppression and racism no longer exist. The bubbly exuberance of Gershwin’s An American in Paris captures the delight and wonder of an American visitor taking in the sights and sounds of Paris for the first time.

They’re pleased to bring back the extraordinary pianist Sara Buechner for a performance of Bernstein’s searching “Age of Anxiety,”  an unusual symphony featuring solo piano. Sara’s powerful performance with OEBS in 2009 was a highlight of that season.

The concert also pays tribute to our neighbors south-of-the-border with Alberto Ginastera’s wildly popular Estancia, a lively work incorporating themes from Argentinean cowboy music.

Audiences are invited to attend a pre-concert talk at 7:00pm.


George Gershwin: __

An American in Paris __(1928)

Duke Ellington: __

New World A-Comin’__ (1945)

Leonard Bernstein:

Symphony No. 2, “The Age of Anxiety” (1949, rev. 1965)

     with Sara Davis Buechner, piano

Alberto Ginastera:

Estancia, Op. 8 (Ballet Suite; 1941)