Venue Details

144 Star Starred
Jacobs Music Center
Copley Symphony Hall 750 B Street San Diego, CA 92101
Get directions
June Harper
1 events
0 reviews
2 stars
I wore A dress, heals, and a nice jacket .
The Rite of Spring
star this tip starred
6 events
6 reviews
2 stars
View all 277 tips

Reviews & Ratings

"Ohlsson Plays Tchaikovsky"
13 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
38 events
12 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 13 2012

Ohlsson was the star, and the nocturne for his encore was the most dreamy and well-played I've ever heard. Kudos to him. But the symphony really shined in the first half--the tone poem by by Resphigi was perfectly played and full of heart. The...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
8 events
6 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 13 2012

My seat in the Grand Tier was excellent for viewing the stage. Even though I was seated on the right side and the pianoist and keyboard faced the left, he was videoed on a screen center stage from the ceiling for all to see.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Stephen Guiland
3 events
3 reviews
1 stars
attended Oct 12 2012

Garrick Ohlsson was fantastic providing the strength and energetic performance required in the 1st movement, contrasted with the gentle butterfly caresses in the 2nd. He is indeed a terrific pianist and when combined with the beauty of the solo...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 10 Reviews
More Information


Respighi: Ancient Airs and Dances: Suite No. 1

Haydn: Symphony No. 102 in B-flat Major

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Major, Op. 44

Piotr Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 2 may be somewhat less known than the First concerto, but it is no less musically rich and dynamic, especially in the hands of our frequent and esteemed guest, pianist Garrick Ohlsson. The concert opens with Ottorino Respighi’s gentle and graceful _Ancient Airs and Dances _in its first Suite, and then Joseph Haydn’s humorous and interesting Symphony No. 102 is performed by music director Jahja Ling and the orchestra.

About the Ticket Supplier: San Diego Symphony

In the 100+ years since its inception, the San Diego Symphony has become one of the leading orchestras in the United States, and was recently designated a Tier 1 Orchestra by the League of American Orchestras. It is committed to providing musical experiences of superior quality for the greater San Diego community and beyond. Through a rich mixture of innovative and educational programming designed to appeal to all ages and cultures, the Symphony makes music an integral part of the cultural and intellectual fabric of the San Diego region, valued by and relevant to all its residents.

The San Diego Symphony offers a wide range of concert experiences and performs over 100 concerts each season, including performances at downtown San Diego’s historic Symphony Hall. Various concert series include the Jacobs Masterworks series led by Music Director Jahja Ling, offering traditional classical repertoire; the City Lights series, featuring Principal Pops Conductor Bill Conti and popular guest artists; the Family Festival, featuring family-friendly concerts; International Passport, bringing the best of world dance and music to San Diego; and Classical Edge, a fascinating series of concerts that examines classical music from entertaining and thought-provoking angles. The orchestra also provides a Chamber Music Series at La Jolla’s TSRI to highlight individual orchestra members performing with esteemed guest artists. Each year, from July through September, the Symphony presents an outdoor Summer Pops season at Embarcadero Marina Park South, mixing classical favorites and pop music in a festive, outdoor atmosphere on San Diego’s picturesque waterfront.

In 2010 the San Diego Symphony celebrated their 100th anniversary, the first California orchestra to reach this milestone.