Venue Details

175 Star Starred
Jacobs Music Center
Copley Symphony Hall 750 B Street San Diego, CA 92101
Get directions

Reviews & Ratings

Rachmaninoff's Third Piano
11 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 9
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
48 events
27 reviews
7 stars
attended May 18 2014

The concert was very enjoyable and the Russian pianist, Gerstein, was amazing! He played the Rachmaninoff 3rd with such strength and energy, and speed........remarkable. Then he played an encore totally with his left hand. Beautiful! Our seats...continued

report as inappropriate
8 events
2 reviews
4 stars
attended May 16 2014

Good seats and great performance! Kirill Gerstein is truly an amazing musician. His performance of the Rach III seemed to make time accelerate. I didn't want it to end, but we were treated with a solo encore.

report as inappropriate
More Information


Jahja Ling, conductor; Kirill Gerstein, piano

Arensky: Variations on a Theme by Tchaikovsky, Op. 35a
Stravinsky: Symphony in Three Movements
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30

<em>Salute to Vienna</em> The Chieftains PKF - Prague Philharmonia <em>She's Got That Swing: Women in Jazz</em> Art of Élan Americans and Paris <em>Birth of the Cool: A West Coast Jazz Salute</em> San Diego Symphony: <em>Noel Noel</em> SDS: <em>American Riffs & Rhapsodies</em> Chanticleer California Ballet Company's <em>The Nutcracker</em> City Ballet's <em>The Nutcracker</em> <em>A Christmas Carol</em> <em>A Christmas Carol</em> <em>A Snow White Christmas</em> <em>Elf the Musical Jr.</em> <em>Miracle on 34th Street: A Radio Play</em> San Diego Ballet: <em>The Nutcracker</em> R. Kelly <em>The Wiz</em>