3128857 1776 080513

1776 Reviews

A.C.T. (San Francisco, CA)

Reviews & Ratings

"1776"
214 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 152
    5
  • 40
    4
  • 13
    3
  • 4
    2
  • 5
    1
9 events
8 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 11 2013

We had a wonderful time! We were familiar with the musical as we saw the movie many years ago, starring William Daniels. And, I have the soundtrack album.

The sets, voices and acting was first-rate! I was surprised at how good the singing...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
14 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 11 2013

Definitely the best musical produced by ACT. Excellent cast of locals & the original Asolo Fla production. Engrossing and relevant to today.
Know that this is less a "musical" than a play with music. enjoy!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
42 events
6 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 12 2013

Fabulous production - great story, witty and well directed. Songs were fun and actors great. Highly recommend this.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
6 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 13 2013

Love, love, love this show. Went one night on full-priced tickets and went back on Goldstar!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
107 events
68 reviews
25 stars
attended Sep 25 2013

thought provoking with the present political situation. two musical numbers were extraordinary, the soldier's particularly. It was fine but not in the annals of history of great theatre.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
91 events
36 reviews
31 stars
attended Sep 17 2013

Excellent production-casting, costumes, set and lighting and sound.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
36 events
34 reviews
11 stars
attended Sep 21 2013

Great new production. All the voices are strong and the ensemble singing is first rate. Great acting as well although I felt like they rushed through the lines especially in the first act. Things slowed down to a reasonable rate in the second act.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
78 events
32 reviews
7 stars
attended Sep 24 2013

Very surprised. It was much more entertaining than I ever thought. Talented, very professional, great voices and of course Our History. Really Loved it.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
53 events
28 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 24 2013

This was a very easy experience from picking up the tickets at the box office to the theatre for a wonderful production. Amazing voices!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
231 events
26 reviews
0 stars
attended Sep 19 2013

Great show and Great actors performing in this fun yet sign of the times history lesson!!!!!!!!!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
35 events
18 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 19 2013

Very good seats. Good show. Enthusiastic audience. Thanks. Red Velvet seems to make a difference.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Elene Sayre Red Velvet
50 events
17 reviews
11 stars
attended Oct 04 2013

"1776" was an excellent production. I enjoyed it so much, I saw it twice!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Elene Sayre Red Velvet
50 events
17 reviews
11 stars
attended Sep 11 2013

My date and I thoroughly enjoyed this show! It was very, very well done. One could easily sense the appreciation from the audience. The subject was very well chosen and unique in its musical setting. The piece sung by the South Carolina...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Susan David Red Velvet
37 events
13 reviews
11 stars
attended Oct 02 2013

I enjoyed the play. I had mixed expectations, and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
27 events
11 reviews
2 stars
attended Sep 15 2013

Beautiful Production
This is a well produced show with great performers. The costumes are splendid, the script is marvelous and the story is spell binding. It is so current! Go see a superb show. Go see 1776.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
40 events
11 reviews
7 stars
attended Oct 01 2013

Great fun. Talented cast & timely topics even after over 200 years

star this review starred report as inappropriate
56 events
11 reviews
4 stars
attended Sep 11 2013

Opening Night Preview - Great seats we had in Orchestra Section. Great singing and good acting. Show was funny. A few songs were a little slow - and maybe picking up the tempo will help a bit. I am sure this will get worked out in the coming 6...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
27 events
10 reviews
1 stars
attended Sep 22 2013

Funny, great lyrics, compelling history and superb acting made this one of the best shows I've seen this year.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
37 events
10 reviews
13 stars
attended Sep 28 2013

We were seated in the first row and were a bit concerned about being too close, but for this play, the seating was terrific! We were treated to a great view of the lovely period costumes and a fascinating look at the
actors close-up. Thanks...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
31 events
8 reviews
3 stars
attended Sep 28 2013

I went with my sister. I was looking forward to it, she was humoring me and went along. The singing was very good and the songs were really catchy. I appreciated how well the characters were written and the characterizations came out. Very well done!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9