Venue Details

5178 Star Starred
Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Venue website Get directions
51 events
28 reviews
5 stars
depending on events around civic center, traffic and parking can be really difficult, so give yourself plenty of time to find parking and bring some cash, because if there is only limited parking all garages will accept cash only!
star this tip starred
9 events
6 reviews
0 stars
Corridor at 100 Van Ness, casual and fast with great food and service
star this tip starred
View all 1065 tips

Reviews & Ratings

Bartók's "Bluebeard's Castle"
26 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 12
  • 10
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
119 events
70 reviews
17 stars
attended Jun 21 2012

It was very enjoyable and not too long....which is perfect for me

star this review starred report as inappropriate
41 events
11 reviews
7 stars
attended Jun 21 2012

The first section (Piano Concerto) was lovely and the second section (Bluebeard's Operetta) was really great with not only the great vocals of the Mezzo Soprano and Bass Baritone but the multi-media details (set,lighting,film). It was a great...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
34 events
11 reviews
1 stars
attended Jun 22 2012

This was not just a concert, but more like a small opera. I'm not really a fan of opera, but this was one of the most memorable experiences I've had in a concert hall. Both musically and theatrically it was an astonishing performance. Highly...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 19 Reviews
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

“DeYoung brought rich voices of enormous depth and an electric tension to the performance [of Duke Bluebeards Castle_].” —_Miami Herald


MTT conducts this semi-staged performance of the chilling and dark one-act opera, Duke Bluebeard’s Castle. Based on a 17th century folk tale, Duke Bluebeard’s Castle is the first and only opera written by Hungarian composer Bartók, and is one of the great achievements of 20th Century music. The mysterious, psychological drama takes audiences on an eerie journey of the human subconscious. Specially designed multi-media projections, staging, and English captions help tell the tale of Duke Bluebeard’s inquisitive new wife Judith, as she searches behind the seven doors of Bluebeard’s castle to find torture chambers, bloody weapons, Bluebeard’s former wives, and more!  


  • * Michael Tilson Thomas  conductor

* Michelle DeYoung  mezzo-soprano (Judith)         

* Alan Held  bass-baritone (Bluebeard)  

* Jeremy Denk  piano

* Nick Hillel  director

* David Holmes  lighting design

* Adam Wiltshire  set design

* Souvenir  set construction

* Richard Slaney  producer      

* San Francisco Symphony