Venue Details

5120 Star Starred
Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Venue website Get directions
9 events
6 reviews
0 stars
Corridor at 100 Van Ness, casual and fast with great food and service
star this tip starred
107 events
41 reviews
10 stars
View all 1064 tips

Reviews & Ratings

Chamber Concert with San Francisco Symphony Members: Beethoven, Schulhoff, Borodin
1 rating
5.0 average rating
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
More Information


Ludwig van Beethoven’s glorious Archduke Trio, a vital landmark of the piano trio literature and one of the composer’s crowning achievements, anchors this afternoon’s selection of chamber music masterworks. The program also features Erwin Schulhoff’s Concertino for Flute, Viola, and Double Bass, a delicious foray into the entrancing sound world of an uncommon trio of instruments; and Alexander Borodin’s tender love letter to his wife, the deeply felt Second String Quartet.


David Chernyavsky, violin

Raushan Akhmedyarova, violin

Nadya Tichman, violin

Nanci Severance, viola

Adam Smyla, viola

Barbara Bogatin, cello

Amos Yang, cello

Scott Pingel, bass

Catherine Payne, flute

Robin Sutherland, piano


Schulhoff: Concertino for Flute, Viola, and Double Bass

Borodin: String Quartet No. 2 in D major

Beethoven: Piano Trio No. 7 in B-flat major, Opus 97, Archduke