Venue Details

5169 Star Starred
Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Venue website Get directions
51 events
28 reviews
5 stars
depending on events around civic center, traffic and parking can be really difficult, so give yourself plenty of time to find parking and bring some cash, because if there is only limited parking all garages will accept cash only!
star this tip starred
9 events
6 reviews
0 stars
Corridor at 100 Van Ness, casual and fast with great food and service
star this tip starred
View all 1065 tips
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

“Ms. Josefowicz gave a thrilling performance … playing with gleaming sound, supple technique and , amazingly, from memory.”— The New York Times


Two ardent champions of contemporary composition, Maestro Salonen and violinist Leila Josefowicz have collaborated numerous times, and in fact, his Violin Concerto was composed for her. A four movement work that covers a wide range of emotions, the piece, with its “brilliant surface and wonderful sound” (The New York Times), presents a vivid complement to the ever-reverberant sounds of Wagner as witnessed in excerpts from his unforgettable Ring cycle.__


__* Esa-Pekka Salonen  (conductor)                                                                                                       

* Christine Brewer  (soprano)

* Leila Josefowicz  (violin)

* San Francisco Symphony__



__* Sibelius: Pohjola’s Daughter

* Esa-Pekka Salonen:  Violin Concerto

* Wagner: Orchestral Excerpts from Götterdämmerung

          —Dawn and Siegfried’s Rhine Journey

          —Siegfried’s Funeral March

          —Brünnhilde’s Immolation__