Venue Details

182 Star Starred
Palace of Fine Arts Theatre
3301 Lyon Street San Francisco, CA 94123
Venue website Get directions
16 events
11 reviews
36 stars
Keep your kids away from the "souvenir" table. Outrageously priced. Reasonable F & B set up. Beer, wine, Sandwiches.
star this tip starred
8 events
3 reviews
3 stars
The weather was cold.. I wore jeans and a heavy jacket/.
star this tip starred
View all 249 tips

Reviews & Ratings

Herb Alpert and Lani Hall
24 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 13
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
17 events
13 reviews
8 stars
attended May 17 2011

Herb and Lani have a wonderful act and a wonderful relationship which shines through on stage. A great 2 hour performance that included a variety of new and old, instrumental and vocals. Great to see Herb in such fine form; I was a big fan of the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
65 events
29 reviews
30 stars
attended May 17 2011

Wonderful music that we haven't heard in such a long time. Really brings back memories. Very enjoyable show. Thank you Goldstar for the great seats! This theatre doesn't seem to have a bad seat in the house! Comfortable chairs and enough room for...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
8 reviews
14 stars
attended May 17 2011

The Palace of Fine Arts theater is a great venue for artists. There's not a bad seat in the house. Last time I saw Herb Alpert was 42 years ago at the Oakland Coliseum with Sergio Mendes and Baja Marimba Band and he is still as charming and...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 17 Reviews
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

Hear Herb Alpert and Lani Hall at the Tijuana Brass website.


Concord Jazz is proud to announce the release of I Feel You, the new album from music legend Herb Alpert and Grammy Award-winning singer Lani Hall.   I Feel You is a thrilling collaboration that blends Alpert and Hall’s vocal and instrumental gifts to perfection.  The songs cover several reinterpreted classics spanning four decades.  Recorded in Los Angeles, it is the duo’s first studio album in almost ten years and will be available February 8, 2011.  


Alpert and Hall are scheduled to tour several venues in support of the release with additional dates to be confirmed in the new year.  They will be accompanied by the versatile band who worked on I Feel You which includes Michael Shapiro (drums), Bill Cantos (keyboards) and Hussain Jiffry (bass).  I Feel You was co-produced by Alpert and Hall along with the band members.


The songs they selected include such classics as Van Morrison’s “Moondance” and Peggy Lee’s “Fever,” as well as two Beatles tunes: “Here Comes The Sun” and “Blackbird.”  All the songs on _I Feel You _are filled with unique and innovative arrangements along with skilled improvisations which breathe fresh life into them. Also on the CD is a reinvented version of the Tijuana Brass hit, “What Now My Love.”  


“Each song is like a flower opening up, exposing new color and fragrance, strength and fragility,” commented Hall.  “I think the key to a great song is always the melody and Lani thinks it’s an equally expressive lyric, which is one of the reasons we’re a good team.  The songs on I Feel You reflect honesty and our mutual commitment to all the songs we do together is to make them sound fresh,” added Alpert.

The outcome of their complementary philosophy is 14 songs on I Feel You that marry the essence of their shared gifts.

About the Ticket Supplier: Another Planet Entertainment

Since its inception, Another Planet has produced over 500 events with artists ranging from Neil Young, Bob Dylan, The Eagles, and Simon & Garfunkel to Metallica, Phish, Radiohead, and Jack Johnson. This in addition to hundreds of shows with developing artists at The Independent -- our San Francisco showcase club.

From Alison Krauss & Union Station to Kanye West, from Depeche Mode to Café Tacuba, Another Planet has presented a wide spectrum of today's top entertainers. Another Planet was selected by the Dave Matthews Band to produce and promote its major outdoor benefit concert at Golden Gate Park in San Francisco. In addition, Another Planet is the exclusive promoter for the Greek Theatre, an 8,500 capacity outdoor amphitheatre in Berkeley, The Independent, a 500 capacity nightclub in San Francisco, and the 8,000 capacity Harvey's Outdoor Amphitheatre in Lake Tahoe. In 2008 Another Planet, in conjunction with the city of Oakland, will reopen and become the exclusive promoters of the 2,500 capacity venue, The Fox Theatre in Oakland.

In 2006 Another Planet presented the Northern California debut of Titanic: The Artifact Exhibition featuring more than 300 authentic artifacts from the luxury liner at the Metreon in San Francisco. This blockbuster exhibit resided on the 4th floor of the Metreon for an eight month run. In 2007 Another Planet with Bay Area Productions produced the highly successful national tour for Academy Award winner Jamie Foxx. Also in 2007, Another Planet in conjunction with Noise Pop, produced the inaugural two-day music festival on Treasure Island in San Francisco, the Treasure Island Music Festival

In its first year of operation, Another Planet Entertainment was honored to be selected by a vote of its peers in the concert industry as "Promoter of the Year" in the United States by Pollstar Magazine. Again, in 2004 and 2005 Another Planet was pleased to be named "Independent Promoter of the Year."