Venue Details

125 Star Starred
The Masonic
Between Taylor and Jones 1111 California Street San Francisco, CA 94108
Venue website Get directions
22 events
12 reviews
11 stars
Don't drive. Take a cable car or cab.
star this tip starred
32 events
29 reviews
48 stars
You have a choice of a few spots to have a drink before or after a show. We like the Huntington Hotel bar and the Fairmont is right there also. Check out the Tonga Room for a tropical experience.
star this tip starred
View all 218 tips

Reviews & Ratings

"Joyous, Jolly, Jingles"
10 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
5 events
3 reviews
0 stars
15 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Dec 08 2011

The event was the best the SFGMC has put on in many years! It is a "must-see" event this holiday season.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
2 events
1 review
1 stars
attended Dec 08 2011

It's an amazing evening ! It's certainly kicked off the holidays for me.
They are true showmen,and there are a lot of them. The show is so
much fun,too! That Rudolf ! Can't wait for the next Christmas show.
Details:This years holiday event...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 6 Reviews
More Information


San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus **

Tim Seelig,* artistic director and conductor *

Melody Moore**, *soprano **

Velocity Bells**, handbell ensemble

Contra Costa Wind Symphony

Singing. Dancing. Exceptional Entertainment. Where’s the one place you can get it all this holiday season? It’s only with the San Francisco Gay Men’s Chorus. The grandeur of the Masonic Auditorium provides the perfect setting for this true holiday extravaganza. The 275 singers of the Chorus will be joined by San Francisco Opera Soprano, Melody Moore, the extraordinary Velocity Bells handbell ensemble, and the 45-piece Contra Costa Wind Symphony.

2011 Set List: “Masters In This Hall” (arr. David Maddux); “Sleigh Ride” (arr. Eddy Clement); “Angels in Seven” (arr. Phillip Kern); “The First Noel” (Pachelbel/Rollins); “O Magnum Mysterium” (Morten Lauridsen); " Variations on Jingle Bells" (arr. Mark Hayes); “Rudolph And Other Queer Folk” (Michael Piazza); “Favorite One” (Cy Coleman); “‘Twas The Night Before Christmas” (arr. Randol Bass); “Gloria” (Randol Bass);  “Silver Bells” (arr. Kevin Robison); “Swing Into Christmas” (arr. Mac Huff); “O Holy Night” (Adolphe Charles Adams); “We Are Lights” (Stephen Schwartz/arr. James Eakin); “Silent Night” (Franz Gruber); “Peace, Peace” (Rick and Sylvia Powell);  “Christmas Flourish” (Randol Bass); and other selections to be announced.

Bonus: The first 1,000 ticketholders to arrive at the Masonic Auditorium for the performance will receive a sample of Ghirardelli’s Peppermint Bark!**