Venue Details

5185 Star Starred
Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Venue website Get directions
51 events
28 reviews
5 stars
depending on events around civic center, traffic and parking can be really difficult, so give yourself plenty of time to find parking and bring some cash, because if there is only limited parking all garages will accept cash only!
star this tip starred
9 events
6 reviews
0 stars
Corridor at 100 Van Ness, casual and fast with great food and service
star this tip starred
View all 1065 tips

Reviews & Ratings

Mussgorsky's "Pictures at an Exhibition"
6 ratings
4.2 average rating
  • 1
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
112 events
30 reviews
5 stars
attended Oct 14 2011

solid performance. the woman singer for Shostakovich no. 14 was excellent, and Pictures at an Exhibition is always a crowd pleaser!

star this review starred report as inappropriate
89 events
25 reviews
9 stars
attended Oct 14 2011

I understand that to "pay" for the classical popular Pictures at an Exhibition, we were required to take on a more challenging piece. This one, a premiere performance, was really exacting too much of a price in the interests of "educating" the...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
Goldstar Member
7 events
2 reviews
0 stars
attended Oct 14 2011

I wish I had known more about the opener- it was a little long (55min) for me, and it was all sung in Russian. Mussorsky's Pictures at an Exhibition was excellent! I would highly recommend seeing this and wish it was longer (35 min, I think).

star this review starred report as inappropriate
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

“When Conlon is leading a performance, music and drama never seem to be at odds … All of it is marked with a joyous sense of urgency.”— Opera News


This all-Russian program features two epic compositions. Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 14 is an emotive work for soprano, bass, and string orchestra with a battery of percussion, comprised of 11 linked setting of poems that present a gripping discussion of our own mortality. This work pairs well with Ravel’s colorful orchestration of Mussorgsky’s famous work, originally written for solo piano, which helped to make famous the sights and sounds of Kiev.

The concert benefits the Orchestra’s Pension Fund.