Venue Details

5179 Star Starred
Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Venue website Get directions
51 events
28 reviews
5 stars
depending on events around civic center, traffic and parking can be really difficult, so give yourself plenty of time to find parking and bring some cash, because if there is only limited parking all garages will accept cash only!
star this tip starred
9 events
6 reviews
0 stars
Corridor at 100 Van Ness, casual and fast with great food and service
star this tip starred
View all 1065 tips

Reviews & Ratings

San Francisco Symphony: American Composers
16 ratings
4.3 average rating
  • 6
  • 8
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
42 events
17 reviews
2 stars
attended Jul 08 2010

The music is great but this conductor, full of energy and enthusiasm, needs to sometimes tamp down the volume. When almost all movements are done at high volume, there is a lack of variation and the shadings and nuances in the music are missed....continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
8 reviews
34 stars
attended Jul 08 2010

Going to the SF Symphony is always a pleasure. Our seats were in the last row of the Orchestra section (main floor). Decent seats, worth the price. Enjoyed the musical selections - American composers - but hints of international flare/influence! ...continued

star this review starred report as inappropriate
17 events
6 reviews
3 stars
attended Jul 08 2010

A delightful evening which ended perfectly when the singers' voices were properly amplified.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
View All 12 Reviews
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

Come an hour prior to concert for lobby entertainment including the Martini Brothers, plus desserts and specialty drinks.


Kick off the summer series with this program of popular classics and unexpected gems by two quintessential American voices. Aaron Copland defined the sound of Americana with his 1942 ballet Rodeo, while his Danzón Cubano and George Gershwin’s exuberant Cuban Overture look to the vibrant folk music of Latin America. The evening also features two rising stars of the opera world, Alyson Cambridge and Gordon Hawkins, in music from the groundbreaking jazz opera Porgy and Bess, including “Summertime” and other signature Gershwin tunes.


Donato Cabrera conductor

Alyson Cambridge soprano

Gordon Hawkins bass-baritone


Copland _ Danzón Cubano _

Copland Four Dance Episodes from _Rodeo _

Gershwin Cuban Overture

Gershwin Music from Porgy and Bess Suite