Venue Details

5185 Star Starred
Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Venue website Get directions
51 events
28 reviews
5 stars
depending on events around civic center, traffic and parking can be really difficult, so give yourself plenty of time to find parking and bring some cash, because if there is only limited parking all garages will accept cash only!
star this tip starred
9 events
6 reviews
0 stars
Corridor at 100 Van Ness, casual and fast with great food and service
star this tip starred
View all 1065 tips

Reviews & Ratings

San Francisco Symphony: Michael Tilson Thomas Conducts Berlioz
6 ratings
4.5 average rating
  • 3
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
1 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Jun 24 2010

A cheaply built auditorium filled with old people sleeping through the crescendo. The music was great but the people reeked of death.
My girlfriend liked it alot.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
18 events
1 review
2 stars
attended Jun 23 2010

Magnificent evening. Both the singer and the soloist were wonderful.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

“The fine mezzo Sasha Cooke … sang Les Nuits d’ete with an expressive, amber-hued voice …” —The New York Times


Michael Tilson Thomas and the San Francisco Symphony perform an all-Berlioz program, including Berlioz’s Roman Carnival Overture, Les Nuits d’été, and Harold in Italy. This concert will feature mezzo-soprano Sasha Cooke and new SF Symphony Principal Viola Jonathan Vinocour. Be the first to hear these works before the SFS performs them at the summer 2010 Lucerne Festival.

Inside Music, an informative talk with Scott Foglesong and free to ticketholders, begins one hour prior to concerts.


Michael Tilson Thomas conductor

Sasha Cooke mezzo-soprano

Jonathan Vinocour viola


Berlioz Roman Carnival Overture

Berlioz _Les Nuits d’été _

Berlioz Harold in Italy