Venue Details

Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Website Get directions
4.6 / 5 Rated by 18 members
suzanne and theater
Review from suzanne and theater
Red Velvet 51 events 28 reviews

A varied program with the full S.F. Symphony conducted by Osmo Vanska, conductor of the Minneapolis Symphony Orchestra. The first piece, Slonimsky's Earbox, by John Adams, was truly a thrill for the ears and mind. Wonderfully energetic and...continued

reviewed Oct 22 2009 report as inappropriate
Review from SanFranAde
31 events 25 reviews

Seats were great - and overall loved the concert but hated the first number by Adams. The pianist was outstanding as was the conductor. My favorite was the Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1. Dvorak piece was nice too.

reviewed Oct 23 2009 report as inappropriate
Robert C. Lang
Review from Robert C. Lang
23 events 11 reviews

First of all Vänskä, the conductor, was worth the price of admission.

Due to where I was seated (second row, front orchestra) there was surely some penalty with respect to total sound quality. But my view and connection Vänskä was up close and...continued

reviewed Oct 22 2009 report as inappropriate
View All 12 Reviews
More Information


Osmo Vänskä, conductor

Antti Siirala, piano

John Adams: _Slonimsky’s Earbox _

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1

Dvorak: Symphony No. 7

The music of living legend John Adams begins an evening of affecting and thrilling masterpieces. Antti Siirala plays Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto, one of the most famous concertos in all of music. Dvoøák’s breathtaking Seventh Symphony rounds out a program that is sure to move you.

More to Explore

<em>Love Never Dies</em> <em>The Music Man</em> Patton Oswalt @ Public Works San Francisco Bay Cruise Adventure <em>Cirque du Soleil Crystal</em> Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater