Venue Details

Davies Symphony Hall
Between Hayes and Grove 201 Van Ness San Francisco, CA 94102
Website Get directions
4.5 / 5 Rated by 6 members
Steve Cohen
Review from Steve Cohen
97 events 26 reviews

Fine opening piece, and the special event of the evening was the wonderful interpretation and performance by the orchestra and pianist. Well worth the time and effort.

reviewed Nov 26 2010 report as inappropriate
Review from Maestro
6 events 2 reviews

SF Symphony did well itself in playing Brahms's Festival Overture and Bergs pieces, I really liked them. However they could do much better, playing in ensemble with Yefim Bronfman. His play was powerful, sparkling and energetic and Brahms's...continued

reviewed Nov 26 2010 report as inappropriate
More Information

Quotes & Highlights

Inside Music, an informative talk with Laura Stanfield Prichard, begins one hour prior to the concert.


Virtuoso Yefim Bronfman joins the Orchestra for Brahms’s monumental First Piano Concerto, a staggering masterpiece from the composer’s twenty-fifth year. The program prefaces this work with the jovial Academic Festival Overture and music by Alban Berg, the early twentieth-century modernist most influenced by Brahmsian Romantic pathos. The sensual Lyric Suite is a musical love letter to Berg’s mistress—written in code!

Michael Tilson Thomas, conductor

Yefim Bronfman, piano

San Francisco Symphony    


Brahms: Academic Festival Overture  

Berg: Three Pieces from Lyric Suite  

Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 1

More to Explore

<em>Sincerella (Black Cinderella)</em> <em>Before Tomorrow</em> With Historian/Archivist Bill Doggett Yoshi's Oakland <em>Office Hour</em> <em>The Wiz</em> San Francisco Bay Cruise Adventure