Venue Details

More Information



  • Some Times
  • The Lesson
  • Moments
  • Grand Pas de Deux

    from La Esmeralda, Diana and Acteon

  • Dennis Nahat’s SOME TIMES is a romantic jazz ballet set to a commissioned score by famed German composer Claus Ogerman. Choreographed by Dennis Nahat, it will remind you of summer romances.

    Flemming Flindt’s THE LESSON tells of a ballet master so driven by his work that his pupil is murdered in the process. Inspired by Eugene Ionesco’s dramatic play, this balletic masterpiece is sought after by major ballet companies throughout the world.

    Dennis Nahat’s MOMENTS is a striking and endearing large company work in four movements set to the dazzling Piano Trio No.1 in D Minor, Op. 49 by Felix Mendelssohn. It showcases the individual talents of the Company members. Each of the four movements is given a name evocative of the moods of the music: “Winged Hearts”, “Suspended in Time”, A Fleeting Moment", and “Spontaneity.” MOMENTS was first performed by Cleveland San Jose Ballet, October 28, 1998 at the State Theatre, Cleveland, Ohio. It received its San Jose debut on October 12, 2000 in the first program performed by the newly-formed Ballet San Jose Silicon Valley.

    A classical GRAND PAS DE DEUX with fouette urns and grand pirouettes from La Esmeralda will have you jumping out of your seat. The pas de deux, with choreography after Agrippian Vaganova and music by Riccardo Drigo, is excerpted and performed based on the Greek myth about the hunter Acteon, who spies on the goddess Diana while she is bathing.

    Yoshi's Oakland <em>Cirque du Soleil: LUZIA</em> <em>Rags</em> An Evening With Ayaan Hirsi Ali Steve Martin and Martin Short Oakland Athletics vs. San Francisco Giants: Preseason Baseball