Venue Details

14 events
8 reviews
3 stars
We went to the Spaghetti Factory and had an excellent dinner. Try their Sangria.
star this tip starred
14 events
8 reviews
3 stars
The weather was cool. I wore sports coat.
star this tip starred
View all 271 tips

Reviews & Ratings

"Just Balanchine"
8 ratings
4.8 average rating
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
19 events
7 reviews
3 stars
attended Mar 27 2008

Outstanding program. Everything you would want from the ballet.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
1 events
1 review
0 stars
attended Mar 28 2008

It was great and the company has so much talent they deserve the full support of the community.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
More Information



_ Serenade_ was Balanchine’s first ballet created in the United States and was given its premiere in 1934. Set in four movements, and danced without interruption, the classical white ballet is set on 28 dancers performing on a bare stage in the moody ethereal light of the moon, and shows off the lyricism of the female corps.

Choreography: George Balanchine

Music: Serenade in C Major

Composer: Peter Ilych Tchaikovsky

Theme and Variations

Classic ballet in a formal setting of a great ballroom with towering pillars, draperies, and crystal chandeliers. Theme and VariationsTheme and Variations concludes with a regal polonaise for the entire ensemble emphasizing rapid regroupings and shifting of partners. is Balanchine at his neo-classic best. The dance steps are tightly tied to the music as illustrated by the opening work of the ballerina to the principal theme played by the violins. It requires boldness in the male variations with strong leaps and swift movements. The ensemble plays a very important part in the work with strong technique demanded in all the ensemble variations. In the imperial Russian style,

Choreography: George Balanchine

Music: Final movement of Suite No. 3 for Orchestra in G minor.

Composer: Peter Ilych Tchaikovsky" ":

The Four Temperaments

Subtitled, “Dance without a Plot”, The Four Temperaments is an abstract work in five parts that explores the classic belief that human beings are made up of four distinct “humors”… melancholic, sanguinic, phlegmatic and choleric. The intricate and abstract piece is danced in a Neo-Classic style that showcases the complexity of this sentiment, and evokes meditation on the different types of human personalities. The dancers are simply clothed in black leotards and pink tights.

Choreography: George Balanchine

Music: Piano and a few Strings

Composer: Paul Hindemith

Lighting: Kenneth Keith