Venue Details

McAfee Performing Arts and Lecture Center
at Saratoga High School 20300 Herriman Avenue Saratoga, CA 95070
Website Get directions
More Information

Event Website


The theme of the Wind Symphony’s season is “America the Beautiful.” Each concert explores a different aspect of America’s rich musical heritage. Their next concert, Chicago: My Kind of Town, gives concertgoers a sneak preview of the program that SJWS will perform later in the month at the 2009 Midwest Band and Orchestra Clinic in Chicago.

The concert features two outstanding guest artists: French horn virtuoso Alicia Telford performs the Rondo from Richard Strauss’s Concerto No. 1, Op. 11; and baritone saxophonist Aaron Lington leads his jazz quintet in his own composition, Open Evidence. SJWS also honors the late composer Roger Nixon, performing Nixon’s classic Centennial Fanfare-March.


Barber –  Andante and Tranquillo from Symphony No. 1, Op. 9

Mackey – Aurora Awakes

Pann – Hold This Boy and Listen

R. Strauss – Rondo from Concerto No. 1, Op. 11

Warlock – Tranquillity from Capriole Suite (with Alicia Telford, French horn)

Lington – Open Evidence (with The Aaron Lington Quintet, Timothy Harris, guest conductor)

Nixon – Centennial Fanfare-March

More to Explore

<em>Cinderella</em> Yoshi's Oakland Yo-Yo Ma, Edgar Meyer and Chris Thile <em>Beach Blanket Babylon</em> Taco Fest 2017 Lionel Richie & Mariah Carey