Venue Details

16 Star Starred
McAfee Performing Arts and Lecture Center
at Saratoga High School 20300 Herriman Avenue Saratoga, CA 95070
Venue website Get directions
19 events
5 reviews
10 stars
I would suggest to bring a bottle of water and small snake for the intermission.
star this tip starred
19 events
5 reviews
10 stars
View all 50 tips

Reviews & Ratings

San Jose Wind Symphony: "Mother Russia"
5 ratings
4.4 average rating
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
44 events
27 reviews
4 stars
attended May 31 2009

This event was wonderful. It was a most enjoyable afternoon. The music was excellent and Dr. Harris, the conductor was a really funny guy. I would definately attend such a concert again. The San Jose Wind is a great group and very diverse.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
16 events
13 reviews
9 stars
attended May 31 2009

We really enjoyed the music. Thanks to Goldstar we found out about this group and will probably become subscribers.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
6 events
1 review
1 stars
attended May 31 2009

Great and entertaining performance. Really enjoyed the Conductor's commentaries and humor. Musicians were excellent and program was varied and educational. I look forward to attending future San Jose Wind Symphony events.

star this review starred report as inappropriate
More Information


The San Jose Wind Symphony, under the direction of Dr. Edward C. Harris, presents the final concert of its season at McAfee Center.

The theme of the Wind Symphony’s season is “Music Makes the World Go Round.” Each concert explores a different musical culture, from the United States and Europe to Asia and Latin America. This concert turns the spotlight on Russia, with its rich musical heritage. The program offers an intoxicating mix of romance, passion and fire.

The major work on the program is the “Finale” from Kalinnikov’s Symphony No. 1 in G Minor. The concert also includes:

Russian Sailors’ Dance (Reinhold Glière)

Entry March of the Boyars (Johan Halvorsen)

Athletic Festival March (Sergei Prokofiev)

Vocalise (Sergei Rachmaninoff)

Prelude (Dmitri Shostakovich)

Salvation is Created (Pavel Tschesnokoff)