Venue Details

Folger Theatre
201 East Capitol Street, SE Washington, DC 20003
Website Get directions
More Information


Juliana Spahr, an associate professor of English at Mills College, reads from her work and is awarded the 2009 O.B. Hardison, Jr. Poetry Prize for her body of work and her teaching. Preceding the poetry reading is a free seminar at 5pm, which replaces the moderated conversation.

Spahr received the National Poetry Series Award for her second collection of poetry, Response . In addition, she has published six other books of poetry. Her latest book,The Transformation (2007), is a kind of lyric prose memoir. Spahr is the author of Everybody’s Autonomy: Connective Reading and Collective Identity (2001), a scholarly study of contemporary poetry that fosters a value of reading as communal, democratic, open process. In addition to teaching and writing poetry, Spahr is also an active editor. Her collaborative efforts with other writers and poets have enriched and extended how we think about contemporary writing and teaching. 

Born in Chillicothe, Ohio, in 1966, Spahr received her BA from Bard College in Languages and Literatures and her PhD from the University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, in English. She has taught at Siena College (1996-7), the University of Hawaii at Manoa (1997-2003), and Mills College (2003-present).


O.B. Hardison, Jr. Poetry Prize:

*The O.B. Hardison, Jr. Poetry Prize is given in memory of former Folger Shakespeare Library Director O.B. Hardison, Jr., who founded the Folger Poetry Series in 1970. The prize, which comes with a $10,000 award, is presented annually to an American poet whose art and teaching are considered extraordinary by the panel of judges, and whose work is informed by the spirit of inquiry, imagination, daring, and scholarship that O. B. Hardison exemplified in his life. The Hardison Prize, established by the friends and family of Hardison in 1991, is presented each October at a ceremony at the Folger Shakespeare Library and accompanied by a reading given by the recipient. This year’s O.B. Hardison, Jr. Poetry Prize judges are Claudia Rankine and Joshua Weiner. 

More to Explore

Happy Hour on the Harbor Cruise <em>The Sound of Music</em> Celebrate Cinco De Mayo Cruise <em>The Jungle Book</em> Rooftop Silent Disco <em>Fun Home</em>