Venue Details

Folger Theatre
201 East Capitol Street, SE Washington, DC 20003
Website Get directions
5.0 / 5 Rated by 2 members
Review from Goldstar Member
13 events 3 reviews

It was a treat, musically, ethically!

reviewed Sep 19 2011 report as inappropriate
More Information


Supported by Imagine Ireland, an initiative of Culture Ireland

Introduction and conversation moderated by Joseph M. Hassett, Folger Poetry Board member and author of _W.B. Yeats and the Muses


Paula Meehan is an award-winning Irish poet, playwright, and professor. Her books of poetry include Painting Rain, Return and No Blame, Pillow Talk, and Dharmakaya, among others. She is a recipient of the Butler Award for Poetry from the Irish American Cultural Institute.

From _Grandmother, Gesture*


My grandmother’s hands come back to soothe me.

They smell of rain. They smell of the city.

They untangle my hair and smooth

my brow. There’s more truth

To those hands than to all the poems

in the holy books . . .

—_Paula Meehan


Theo Dorgan is a poet, prose writer, editor, and translator. His latest poetry collections include Greek and What This Earth Costs Us. He has written scripts for film documentaries and worked as a presenter of literature programs on radio and television for more than 25 years. A former director of Poetry Ireland, he is the recipient of the 2010 Lawrence O’Shaughnessy Prize for Irish Poetry.

From _Ithaca**


There will be time in the long days and nights,

stunned by the sun or driven by the stars,

to unwind your spool of life.

—_Theo Dorgan

__*From Greek © 2010 by Theo Dorgan, published by Dedalus Press. Used with permission.

**From _Dharmakaya © 2002 by Paula Meehan, published by Wake Forest University Press. Used with permission._


More to Explore

<em>The Sound of Music</em> <em>Outside Mullingar</em> <em>Fun Home</em> <em>The Jungle Book</em> Red, White & Brew Beer and Wine Festival Actress-Author Gabourey Sidibe