Venue Details

4 Star Starred
Ruth Nagel Jones Theatre
Alumnae Hall at Wellesley College 106 Central Street Wellesley, MA 02481
Venue website Get directions
4.4 / 5 Rated by 8 members
Review from Robert S
157 events 12 reviews

Very well done, an excellent production.

reviewed Jun 26 2008 report as inappropriate
Review from robskaren
22 events 7 reviews

Guess I'm just not as fond of "Our Town" as I thought I was. Acting was fine, but I don't care for plays where the characters talk to the audience.

reviewed Jun 21 2008 report as inappropriate
Review from Castle lady
7 events 4 reviews

Great venue. Excellent production. Definitely worth seeing this staging of an always relevant play. Bravo!

reviewed Jun 06 2008 report as inappropriate
View All 6 Reviews
More Information


The Wellesley Summer Theatre Company is proud to announce their production of the beloved American classic, Thornton Wilder’s Our Town, in the intimacy of the Ruth Nagel Jones Theatre.  Directed by Artistic Director Nora Hussey and designed by the resident team of Ken Loewit (scenic and lighting design), Nancy Stevenson (costumes) and George Cooke (sound). 


This story of life in small town America at the dawn of the twentieth century is brought to vivid life by the resident acting troupe.  Now in its 11th season, this company has been repeatedly lauded for its acting ensemble. Grover’s Corners and all its inhabitants play out the story of the endless cycle of birth, love and death in small town New Hampshire.  In the New Yorker, critic John Lahr wrote, “Our Town leaves us with a sense of blessing and the unspoken but palpable command to achieve gratitude in what remains of our days on earth”.


The production welcomes back company members past and present:  Kit Arnold, Sarah Barton, Heather Boas, Danny Bolton, John Davin, Lisa Foley,  Marc Harpin, Eric Hamel, Gladdy Matteosian and Charlotte Peed.  It also welcomes newcomers Zach Bubolo, Christine Hamel, Will Keary and Ben Small.

Tall Ships Viewing Cruise Provincetown Fast Ferry Sunset Cruise Lighthouse Brunch Cruise Historic Sightseeing Cruise Boston to Salem Ferry